Federal Commission on School Safety

Federal Commission on School Safety

"Every child deserves to grow up in a safe community surrounded by a loving family and to have a future filled with opportunity and with hope."

President Donald J. Trump

In March 2018, President Donald J. Trump appointed U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to lead the Federal Commission on School Safety. The Commission has been charged with quickly providing meaningful and actionable recommendations to keep students safe at school. These recommendations will include a range of issues, like social emotional support, recommendation on effective school safety infrastructure, discussion on minimum age for firearms purchases, and the impact that videogames and the media have on violence.

There is not one plan that fits all schools across the country, so the Commission will be focusing on all variations of school size, structure, and geographic locations with their final recommendations. Input from Commission meetings, listening sessions and field visits will all be considered. Meetings and correspondence with students, parents, teachers, school safety personnel, administrators, law enforcement officials, mental health professionals, school counselors, security professionals and other related stakeholders will be critical to the Commission's work as well.

If you have information to share you may email the Federal Commission School Safety team at safety@ed.gov.

The Commission

Over the next few months, the Commission will host formal commission meetings, field visits and listening sessions. The formal meetings will include Commission members Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, Attorney General Jeff Sessions, Secretary of Health and Human Services Alex Azar, and Secretary of Homeland Security Kirstjen Nielsen, as well as subject matter experts. During field visits, select members of the Commission will travel to schools throughout the country to observe and learn about best practices in school safety; and listening sessions will provide an opportunity for the public to give input on ways to make schools safer.

Chair, Betsy DeVos
Secretary of Education

Betsy DeVos serves as the 11th U.S. Secretary of Education. She was confirmed by the U.S. Senate on February 7, 2017 after being nominated by President Donald J. Trump.

Secretary DeVos has been involved in education policy for nearly three decades as an advocate for children and a voice for parents. She is especially passionate about reforms that help underserved children gain access to a safe, quality education.

Jeff Sessions
Attorney General of the United States

Jeff Sessions was sworn in as the 84th Attorney General of the United States on February 9, 2017 by Michael R. Pence. President Donald J. Trump announced his intention to nominate Mr. Sessions on November 18, 2016.

Prior to becoming Attorney General, Mr. Sessions served as a United States Senator for Alabama since 1996. As a United States Senator, he focused his energies on maintaining a strong military, upholding the rule of law, limiting the role of government, and providing tax relief to stimulate economic growth and to empower Americans to keep more of their hard-earned money.

Alex Azar
Secretary of Health and Human Services

Alex M. Azar II was sworn in as the Secretary of Health and Human Services on January 29, 2018. Azar has spent his career working in both the public and private sectors, as an attorney and in senior leadership roles focused on advancing healthcare reform, research and innovation.

From 2001 to 2007, Azar served at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services – first as its General Counsel (2001–2005) and then as Deputy Secretary. During his time as Deputy Secretary, Azar was involved in improving the department’s operations; advancing its emergency preparedness and response capabilities as well as its global health affairs activities; and helping oversee the rollout of the Medicare Part D prescription drug program.

Kirstjen M. Nielsen
Secretary of Homeland Security

Kirstjen Michele Nielsen was sworn in on December 6, 2017 as the sixth Secretary of Homeland Security. She previously served as White House Deputy Chief of Staff. Secretary Nielsen joined the Trump administration in January 2017 as Chief of Staff to then-Secretary of Homeland Security, John Kelly. In that position, she was responsible for advising the Secretary on all operational, policy, and legal matters, including counterterrorism, cybersecurity, and border security.


March 28, 2018
Organizational Meeting
Readout of Meeting

May 17, 2018
Meeting with Experts and Survivors of Mass Shootings
Readout of Meeting

May 31, 2018
Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports Field Visit
Media Advisory

June 6, 2018
Public Listening Session
Media Advisory
Livestream: YouTube; EDstream

June 21, 2018
The Ecology of Schools: Fostering a Culture of Human Flourishing and Developing Character
Press Release

June 26, 2018
Listening Session
Media Advisory


Links to Information on Other Federal Sites


State Contacts

NOTE: These documents contain resources that are provided for the user's convenience. The inclusion of these materials is not intended to reflect its importance, nor is it intended to endorse any views expressed, or products or services offered. These materials may contain the views and recommendations of various subject matter experts as well as hypertext links, contact addresses and websites to information created and maintained by other public and private organizations. The opinions expressed in any of these materials do not necessarily reflect the positions or policies of the U.S. Department of Education. The U.S. Department of Education does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of any outside information included in these materials.

If you have information to share you may email the Federal Commission School Safety team at safety@ed.gov.

For any press inquires, please contact press@ed.gov.