U.S. Department of Education Awards $28.8 Million to School Districts To Improve Readiness and Emergency Response Plans

Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards $28.8 Million to School Districts To Improve Readiness and Emergency Response Plans

August 19, 2010

School districts across the country will be able to improve and strengthen their emergency management plans as a result of $28.8 million in grants awarded today by the U.S. Department of Education. The Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools (REMS) discretionary grant program will enable 98 school districts in 28 states to improve plans that address all four phases of emergency management: Prevention-Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery.

“No student should feel unsafe in school,” U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan said. “The fact is that no school can be a great school until it is a safe school first, and these grants will support that effort.”

In addition to addressing the four phases of emergency management, plans must commit school districts to coordinate with officials in law enforcement, local government, public safety, public health and mental health; train school officials in emergency management; and provide a method for communicating emergency and reunification procedures to parents and guardians. Projects should support the implementation of the National Incident Management System (NIMS) and include plans designed to prepare districts for infectious disease outbreaks and take into consideration districts’ special needs populations.

Funds may be used to coordinate with local emergency responders, including fire, police, and health and public health agencies; conduct drills and exercises; purchase emergency supplies and equipment; and to train staff and students on emergency response procedures.

The grants are housed within the Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools, which supports efforts to create safe schools, respond to crises, prevent drug and alcohol abuse, ensure the health and well being of students, and teach students good citizenship and character. The office also coordinates the Department’s efforts in these areas with other federal agencies, including the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

A complete list of the 98 grant awards follows:


Russellville City Schools
Russellville, AL


Paradise Valley Unified School District No. 69
Phoenix, AZ


Antioch Unified School District
Antioch, CA

Chico Unified School District
Chico, CA

Chula Vista Elementary School District
Chula Vista, CA

Coachella Valley Unified School District
Thermal, CA

Desert Sands Unified School District
La Quinta, CA

Fresno Unified School District
Fresno, CA

Hacienda La Puente Unified School District
City of Industry, CA

Imperial County Office of Education
El Centro, CA $313,122

Kern County Superintendent of Schools
Bakersfield, CA

Los Angeles Unified School District
Los Angeles, CA $710,053

McKinleyville Union School District
McKinleyville, CA

Merced Union High School District
Atwater, CA

Oceanside Unified School District
Oceanside, CA

Orange Unified School District
Orange, CA

Petaluma School District
Petaluma, CA

Sacramento City Unified School District
Sacramento, CA

Santa Ana Unified School District
Santa Ana, CA

South Bay Union Elementary School District
Eureka, CA

Tustin Unified School District
Tustin, CA $358,476

West Contra Costa Unified School District
Richmond, CA


Denver Public Schools
Denver, CO

Summit School District
Frisco, CO


District School Board of Pasco County
Land O’Lakes, FL

Marion County Public Schools
Ocala, FL

School Board of Orange County
Orlando, FL


Burke County Board of Education
Waynesboro, GA


Carbondale Elementary School District
Carbondale, IL

Chicago Public Schools
Chicago, IL

Geneva Community Unit School District #304
Geneva, IL

Oregon Community Unit School District #220
Oregon, IL

Raccoon Consolidated Elementary School District #1
Centralia, IL

Urbana School District
Urbana, IL


Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township
Indianapolis, IN

Monroe County Community School Corporation
Bloomington, IN

White River Valley School District
Switz City, IN


USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden
Manhattan, KS


Breathitt County Board of Education
Jackson, KY

Covington Independent Public Schools
Covington, KY

Grant County Board of Education
Williamstown, KY

Green River Regional Education Cooperative
Bowling Green, KY

Perry County Board of Education
Hazard, KY

Pulaski County School District
Somerset, KY

Wolfe County Board of Education
Campton, KY


Caddo Parish School Board
Shreveport, LA

Lafourche Parish School Board
Thibodaux, LA

Livingston Parish Public Schools
Livingston, LA

Ouachita Parish School Board
Monroe, LA


Montgomery County Public Schools
Rockville, MD


Brockton Public Schools
Brockton, MA

Cambridge Public Schools
Cambridge, MA

Weston Public Schools
Weston, MA


Lenawee Intermediate School District
Adrian, MI

Newaygo Public Schools
Newaygo, MI


Independent School District 622
North St. Paul, MN

Northeast Metropolitan Independent School District 916
White Bear Lake, MN


Senatobia Municipal School District
Senatobia, MS


South Sioux City Community School District
South Sioux City, NE


Butler Public School District
Butler, NJ

Hillsborough Township Board of Education
Hillsborough, NJ

Stafford Township School District
Manahawkin, NJ


Corning City School District
Painted Post, NY

Half Hollow Hills Central School District
Dix Hills, NY

New York City Department of Education
New York, NY

Renaissance Charter High School for Innovation
New York, NY

Rocky Point Union Free School District #9
Rocky Point, NY


Centerburg School District
Centerburg, OH

Princeton Public Schools
Cincinnati, OH

Southwestern City Schools
Grove City, OH


Beggs Public Schools
Beggs, OK

Belfonte Public Schools
Muldrow, OK

Hominy Public Schools
Hominy, OK

Mooreland Public Schools
Mooreland, OK

Mulhall Orlando Public Schools
Orlando, OK

Stilwell Public Schools
Stilwell, OK

Walters Public Schools
Walters, OK

Warner Public Schools
Warner, OK

Watts Public Schools
Watts, OK


Grants Pass School District No. 7
Grants Pass, OR

School District 1J Multnomah County
Portland, OR


School District of Lancaster
Lancaster, PA


Laurens County School District 56
Clinton, SC


Franklin Special School District
Franklin, TN


Education Service Center Region 12
Waco, TX

Education Service Center Region 20
San Antonio, TX

Fort Worth Independent School District
Fort Worth, TX

Humble Independent School District
Humble, TX

Lumberton Independent School District
Lumberton, TX

McAllen Independent School District
McAllen, TX

Port Arthur Independent School District
Port Arthur, TX

Vidor Independent School District
Vidor, TX

Waller Independent School District
Waller, TX


Henry County Public Schools
Collinsville, VA

Prince William County Public Schools
Manassas, VA

Pulaski County School District
Pulaski, VA


Northeast Washington Educational Service District 101
Spokane, WA

Snoqualmie Valley School District
Snoqualmie, WA