U.S. Department of Education Awards $136 Million in Charter School Grants to States to Increase Public School Options

Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards $136 Million in Charter School Grants to States to Increase Public School Options

August 16, 2010

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the award of 12 charter school grants, totaling $136 million to state education agencies in Arkansas, California, Colorado, the District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Texas to increase public school options in those states.

The Administration will invest more than $256 million this year to assist in the planning and implementation of public charter schools and dissemination of their successful practices through the Charter Schools Program. President Barack Obama's fiscal year 2011 budget request includes a $54 million increase in the Charter Schools Program, providing $310 million and representing another step toward meeting the Administration's commitment to double financial support for the program during the President's term.

The purpose of the Charter Schools Program is to increase financial support for the startup and expansion of these public schools, build a better national understanding of the public charter school model, and increase the number of high-quality public charter schools across the nation.

More information about the Charter Schools Program is available from the Education Department's Office of Innovation and Improvement at: www2.ed.gov/programs/charter/index.html.

Note to Editors: The following is a list of grantees by state and grant award amount for the first year of the grant followed by grantee contact information.

Grantee FY10 Award
Arkansas Department of Education $3,425,578
California Department of Education $51,769,620
Colorado Department of Education $13,630,792
District of Columbia, Office of the State Superintendent of Education $1,322,353
Georgia Department of Education $13,144,978
Indiana Department of Education $10,852,838
Michigan Department of Education $16,684,578
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education $2,178,749
New Hampshire Department of Education $1,330,981
Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education $2,388,155
South Carolina Department of Education $5,670,000
Texas Education Agency $13,782,638
Total $136,181,260


Grant Contact Phone Email
AR: Mary Ann Duncan (501) 683-5313 maryann.duncan@arkansas.gov
CA: Julie Baltazar (916) 322-6029 jbaltazar@cde.ca.gov
CO: Denise Mund (303) 866-6740 mund_d@cde.state.co.us
DC: Stefan Huh (202) 724-7803 stefan.huh@dc.gov
GA: Louis Erste (404) 651-8734 lerste@doe.k12.ga.us
IN: Kimb Stewart (317) 234-2137 kstewart@doe.in.gov
MI: Jean Shane (517) 241-2375 shanej@michigan.gov
MO: Craig Rector (573) 526-1594 craig.rector@dese.mo.gov
NH: Roberta Tenney (603) 271-2079 rtenney@ed.state.nh.us
RI: Jennifer Smith (401) 222-4600 jennifer.smith@ride.ri.gov
SC: Julie Anna Hartwell (803) 734-8368 jhartwel@ed.sc.gov
TX: Mary Perry (512) 463-9575 mary.perry@tea.state.tx.us