U.S. Department of Education Awards $12.3 Million in Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Grants

Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards $12.3 Million in Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Grants

35 School Districts in 17 States to Receive Grants for School Counselors and Counseling Programs

August 16, 2013

The U.S. Department of Education awarded $12.3 million to 35 schools districts in 17 states across the country to establish or expand counseling programs. Grantees will use funds to support counseling programs in targeted elementary schools. Specifically, the new awards will aid schools in hiring qualified mental-health professionals with the goal of expanding the range, availability, quantity and quality of counseling services. Parents of participating students will have input in the design and implementation of counseling services supported by these grants.

"School counselors serve a critical role in ensuring that students are safe," U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said. "These grants will enhance school-based counseling programs, which have proven to be a great source of help for students with mental-health issues."

Grantees also will use funds to help increase the number of available and qualified counselors based on a school's student population. Research shows that having adequate counseling services can help reduce the number of disciplinary referrals in schools, improve student attendance and academic performance, and enhance development of social skills. Funds also may be used to support parental involvement, counselor and teacher professional development, and collaboration with community-based organizations that provide mental-health and other services to students.

Below is a list of the 35 new awards. For more information on the Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Program, visit http://www2.ed.gov/programs/elseccounseling/index.html.

FY 2013 Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Grant Awards

County of Maricopa Osborn School District #8 (AZ) $396,780
Alhambra Unified School District (CA) $396,657
Cajon Valley Union School District (CA) $399,304
Cutler-Orosi Joint Unified School District (CA) $322,694
Desert Sands Unified School District (CA) $267,922
Earlimart School District (CA) $249,738
Elk Grove Unified School District (CA) $398,498
Montebello Unified School District (CA) $395,768
Mountain Empire Unified School District (CA) $397,320
Sierra Sands Unified School District (CA) $200,000
Summerville Elementary School District (CA) $340,547
Willits Unified School District (CA) $396,373
Bloomfield Public Schools (CT) $308,740
Southington Public Schools (CT) $389,789
Calhoun City Board of Education (GA) $394,458
Geary County Unified School District #475 (KS) $399,940
Harlan County Board of Education (KY) $400,000
Northern Kentucky Cooperative (KY) $371,377
Terrebonne Parish School District (LA) $397,386
Everett Public Schools (MA) $382,900
Harford County Public Schools (MD) $382,037
Academy for Business and Technology (MI) $395,267
Eastern Upper Peninsula ISD (MI) $372,944
Eastern Suffolk Board of Cooperative Educational Services (NY) $365,590
Imagine Me Leadership Charter School (NY) $317,305
Salamanca City Central School District (NY) $312,009
Bellaire Local School District (OH) $169,173
Columbus Preparatory Academy (OH) $399,160
Meigs Local School District (OH) $379,397
Rattan Public Schools (OK) $254,042
Navasota Independent School District (TX) $399,922
Waco Independent School District (TX) $399,584
Kershaw County School District (SC) $394,372
Tooele County School District (UT) $399,649
Milton Town School District (VT) $204,143