Education Secretary Arne Duncan Announces Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership for 2015

Archived Information

Education Secretary Arne Duncan Announces Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership for 2015

October 28, 2015

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the 2015 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. The seven principals from the 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored with the Terrel H. Bell Award at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. on Monday, Nov. 9th at the Omni Shoreham Hotel.

"Great principals shape a school's culture and nurture, retain, and empower teachers and serve as the catalyst for significant school improvement," Duncan said. "These principals inspire their teachers and have a positive impact on instructional practices that lead to improved learning outcomes. The Bell Award is recognition for the essential work they do every day."

The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals present the Terrel H. Bell Awards to principals of National Blue Ribbon Schools for their outstanding work and the vital role they play in guiding their students and schools to excellence, frequently under challenging circumstances.

The 2015 recipients are:

  • Jon Cerny, Bancroft-Rosalie Elementary School, Bancroft, Nebraska
  • Edna Coia, Francis J. Varieur School, Pawtucket, Rhode Island
  • James Heater, Esther F. Garrison School of Visual and Performing Arts, Savannah, Georgia
  • Rosalba De Hoyos, Achieve Early College High School, McAllen, Texas
  • Heidi Smith, Frank L. Huff Elementary School, Mountain View, California
  • Irma Trosclair, South Crowley Elementary School, Crowley, Louisiana
  • Janell Uerkwitz, Murdock Elementary School, Lafayette, Indiana

Named for the second Secretary of Education, the award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people's lives. They are principals who do "whatever it takes" to foster successful teaching and learning and help their students meet high standards. The Bell Award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, and principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the program's application process.

Brief summaries of each recipient's work are available at National Blue Ribbon Schools.