Appendix C. Acknowledgments

We extend our appreciation to the thousands of individuals who participated in the numerous discussions, focus groups, presentations, webinars, public forums, and Web-based comment events that were held throughout the plan development process. A summary of the activities through which stakeholders contributed input is provided below. Our special thanks go to those who organized outreach efforts that helped gather valuable insights from across the field.

Policy Interviews

U.S. Department of Education

Joseph Conaty, Director, Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality Programs
Tom Corwin, Director, Division of Elementary, Secondary, and Vocational Analysis Budget Service
John Easton, Director, Institute of Education Sciences
Cheryl Garnette, Director, Technology in Education Programs, Office of Innovation and Improvement
Alan Ginsburg, Director, Policy and Program Studies Service
Laura Johns, Office of Educational Technology
Jenelle Leonard, Director of School Support & Technology Programs
Martha Kanter, Under Secretary
Ray Myers, Office of Educational Technology
Hugh Walkup, Office of Educational Technology
Joanne Weiss, Director, Race to the Top Fund

White House

Aneesh Chopra, Associate Director and Chief Technology Officer, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
Kumar Garg, Policy Analyst, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
Tom Kalil, Deputy Director for Policy, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

National Organizations

Anne Bryant, Executive Director, National School Boards Association
Michael Cohen, President, Achieve
Dane Linn, Education Division Director, National Governors Association
Gene Wilhoit, Executive Director, Council of Chief State School Officers

Technical Working Group Webinar Discussants

Equity Issues in Technology-supported Learning

Mark Warschauer, University of California, Irvine

Open Educational Resources and System Redesign

Michael Horn, Innosight Institute
Elliot Maxwell, Consultant to the Committee for Economic Development

Reconceptualizing Assessment

Robert Kozma, Kozmalone Consulting
Jim Pellegrino, University of Illinois, Chicago

Enhancing Productivity

Rich Kaestner, Consortium on School Networking (CoSN)

Supporting Teachers with Technology

Barry Fishman, University of Michigan
Bill Penuel, SRI International
Ann Renninger, Swarthmore College
Steve Weimar, Math Forum

Outreach Events

State Educational Technology Directors Grantee Meeting

May 5, 2009
142 registered participants

ISTE Leadership Symposium at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 28, 2009
207 registered participants

ISTE CIO/CTO Forum at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 29, 2009
50 participants

Focus Groups at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 29-July 1
59 participants

SETDA Member Webinar

Aug. 24, 2009

Silicon Valley Industry Summit

Sept. 21, 2009

Agile Mind, Linda Chaput
Apple, John Couch
Blackboard, Jessie Woolley-Wilson
Carnegie Learning, Steve Ritter
Cisco, Ned Hooper
Dell, Mark Horan
George Lucas Educational Foundation, Steve Arnold
Google, Maggie Johnson
IBM, James Spohrer
Hewlett-Packard, Phil McKinney
Intel, Eileen Lento
KC Distance Learning, Caprice Young
McGraw-Hill, Randall Reina
Microsoft, Stephen Coller
NeXtAdvisors, Michael Moe
Teachscape, Mark Atkinson
Oracle, Clare Dolan
Pearson, Doug Kubach
Scholastic, Margery Mayer
SMART Technologies, Nancy Knowlton
Sun Microsystems, Scott McNealy
Texas Instruments, Melendy Lovett
VIP Tone, Robert Iskander
Wireless Generation, Larry Berger

NCTET Policy Forum

Sept. 25, 2009
30 participants

CoSN Member Webinar

Oct. 6, 2009
72 registered participants

Webinar with Philanthropy Leaders

Oct. 6, 2009

Cisco 21st Century Schools Initiative, Bill Fowler
HP Global Social Investment, Jim Vanides
Intel Foundation, Wendy Hawkins
MacArthur Foundation, Craig Wacker and Connie Yowell
Microsoft Partners in Learning, James Bernard and Mary Cullinane
National Geographic JASON Project, Caleb Schutz
New Tech Network, Monica Martinez
Oracle Education Foundation, Bernie Trilling
Pearson Foundation, Kathy Hurley and Mark Nieker

Public Forum at the University of Michigan

Oct. 21, 2009
75 participants

NCTET Member Webinar

Oct. 26, 2009

Exploring New Modalities for Learning Conference

Oct. 30, 2009

SETDA Leadership Conference

Nov. 1, 2009

Second Life Public Forum

Nov. 5, 2009
200 participants

ISTE100 Meeting

Nov. 9, 2009
25 participants

iNACOL Virtual School Symposium

Nov. 16, 2009

National Center for Technology Innovation Conference

Nov. 17, 2009

Summit on Redefining Teacher Education for Digital Age Learners

Dec. 8, 2009

Technical working group members Daniel E. Atkins, Barry Fishman, Roy Pea, and Brenda Williams played an important role in reaching out to various stakeholders. We also extend our deep thanks to those who helped convene and gather input from the community, including Patricia Anderson, Karen Billings, Leslie Connery, Christine Fox, Tracy Gray, Jenelle Leonard, Don Knezek, Keith Krueger, Susan Patrick, Paul Resta, Mark Schneiderman, Irene Spero, and Mary Ann Wolf.