Archived Information


We extend our appreciation to the thousands of individuals who participated in the numerous discussions, focus groups, presentations, webinars, public forums, and web-based comment events that were held throughout the plan development process. A summary of the activities through which stakeholders contributed input is provided below. We extend our special thanks to those who organized outreach efforts that helped gather valuable insights from across the field.

Policy Interviews


U.S. Department of Education

Joseph Conaty, Director, Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality Programs Tom Corwin, Associate Deputy Under Secretary, Office of Innovation and Improvement John Easton, Director, Institute of Education Sciences Cheryl Garnette, Director, Technology in Education Programs, Office of Innovation and Improvement Alan Ginsburg, Director, Policy and Program Studies Service Laura Johns, Office of Educational Technology Jenelle Leonard, Director of School Support & Technology Programs Martha Kanter, Under Secretary Ray Myers, Office of Educational Technology Hugh Walkup, Office of Educational Technology Joanne Weiss, Director, Race to the Top Fund

White House

Aneesh Chopra, Associate Director and Chief Technology Officer, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Kumar Garg, Policy Analyst, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Tom Kalil, Deputy Director for Policy, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

National Organizations

Anne Bryant, Executive Director, National School Boards Association Michael Cohen, President, Achieve Dane Linn, Education Division Director, National Governors Association Gene Wilhoit, Executive Director, Council of Chief State School Officers

Technical Working Group Webinar Discussants


Equity Issues in Technology-Supported Learning

Mark Warschauer, University of California, Irvine

Open Educational Resources and System Redesign

Michael Horn, Innosight Institute Elliot Maxwell, Consultant to the Committee for Economic Development

Reconceptualizing Assessment

Robert Kozma, Kozmalone Consulting Jim Pellegrino, University of Illinois, Chicago
Enhancing Productivity
Rich Kaestner, Consortium on School Networking (CoSN)

Supporting Teachers with Technology

Barry Fishman, University of Michigan Bill Penuel, SRI International Ann Renninger, Swarthmore College Steve Weimar, Math Forum

Outreach Events


State Educational Technology Directors Grantee Meeting

May 5, 2009 142 registered participants

ISTE Leadership Symposium at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 28, 2009 207 registered participants

ISTE CIO/CTO Forum at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 29, 2009 50 participants

Focus Groups at the National Educational Computing Conference

June 29-July 1 59 participants

SETDA Member Webinar

August 24, 2009

Silicon Valley Industry Summit

September 21, 2009
Agile Mind, Linda Chaput Apple, John Couch Blackboard, Jessie Woolley-Wilson Carnegie Learning, Steve Ritter Cisco, Ned Hooper Dell, Mark Horan George Lucas Educational Foundation, Steve Arnold Google, Maggie Johnson IBM, James Spohrer Hewlett-Packard, Phil McKinney Intel, Eileen Lento KC Distance Learning, Caprice Young McGraw-Hill, Randall Reina Microsoft, Stephen Coller NeXt Advisors, Michael Moe Teachscape, Mark Atkinson Oracle, Clare Dolan Pearson, Doug Kubach Scholastic, Margery Mayer SMART Technologies, Nancy Knowlton Sun Microsystems, Scott McNealy Texas Instruments, Melendy Lovett VIP Tone, Robert Iskander Wireless Generation, Larry Berger

NCTET Policy Forum

September 25, 2009 30 participants

CoSN Member Webinar

October 6, 2009 72 registered participants

Webinar with Philanthropy Leaders

October 6, 2009
Cisco 21st Century Schools Initiative, Bill Fowler HP Global Social Investment, Jim Vanides Intel Foundation, Wendy Hawkins MacArthur Foundation, Craig Wacker and Connie Yowell Microsoft Partners in Learning, James Bernard and Mary Cullinane National Geographic JASON Project, Caleb Schutz New Tech Network, Monica Martinez Oracle Education Foundation, Bernie Trilling Pearson Foundation, Kathy Hurley and Mark Nieker

Public Forum at the University of Michigan

October 21, 2009 75 participants

NCTET Member Webinar

October 26, 2009

Exploring New Modalities for Learning Conference

October 30, 2009

SETDA Leadership Conference

November 1, 2009

Second Life Public Forum

November 5, 2009 200 participants

ISTE100 Meeting

November 9, 2009 25 participants

iNACOL Virtual School Symposium

November 16, 2009

National Center for Technology Innovation Conference

November 17, 2009

Summit on Redefining Teacher Education for Digital Age Learners

December 8, 2009
Technical Working Group members Daniel E. Atkins, Barry Fishman, Roy Pea, and Brenda Williams played an important role in reaching out to various stakeholders. We also extend our deep thanks to those who helped convene and gather input from the community, including Patricia Anderson, Karen Billings, Leslie Connery, Christine Fox, Tracy Gray, Jenelle Leonard, Don Knezek, Keith Krueger, Susan Patrick, Paul Resta, Mark Schneiderman, Irene Spero, and Mary Ann Wolf.

   Posted in