Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards Nearly $9.2 Million in Grants to Support Campus-Based Child Care Services for Low-Income Students


Contact:  
Press Office, (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov


To support the participation of more low-income parents in higher education, the U.S. Department of Education today awarded nearly $9.2 million to 58 postsecondary institutions to establish or support campus-based child care services.

"Peace of mind is an important factor in student success," said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. "These grants help parents stay focused on their studies and graduation goals. The funding is part of the Department's overall effort to support parenting students so that they can build better lives for themselves and their children."

Funded under the Child Care Access Means Parents in School (CCAMPIS) program, awards can be used for child care services for all age groups: infants, toddlers, and preschoolers, as well as before and after-school care for school-age children. Students eligible to receive services for their children through CCAMPIS must be eligible for Pell grants, which are awarded based on financial need. In addition to using a sliding fee scale for the services, some grantees require students to attend parent workshops and take part in academic counseling to maximize their prospects for success in completing their higher education studies.

This year, to align with the Department's overall priorities for higher education, applicants were also encouraged to include support for military families.

All 58 grants, located in 28 states, are funded for four years. Specific information is provided below.

AR Mena Rich Mountain Community College $20,064 Charlotte Wiles cwiles@rmcc.edu
AZ Mesa Mesa Community College $56,160 Kris Bliss kristina.bliss@mesacc.edu
AZ Phoenix Phoenix College $60,302 Gloria McGinty gloria.mcginty@phoenixcollege.edu
CA Arcata Humboldt State University $168,040 Susan Rosen Susan.Rosen@humboldt.edu
CA San Bernardino University of Southern California/ San Bernardino $307,838 Amanda Wilcox-Herzog awilcox@csusb.edu
CA Eureka Redwoods Community College District $97,588 Michelle Hancock michelle-hancock@redwoods.edu
CA Long Beach California State University/ Long Beach $137,502 Rhonda Marikos Rhonda.Marikos@csulb.edu
CA Santa Ana Santa Ana College $132,827 Dee Tucker tucker_dee@rsccd.edu
CA Santa Maria Allan Hancock College $99,714 Thesa Roepke troepke@hancockcollege.edu
CA Salinas Hartnell Community College District $117,217 Carla Johnson cjohnson@hartnell.edu
CA Pittsburg Los Medanos College $100,309 Kathryn Nielsen knielsen@losmedanos.edu
CO Lakewood Red Rocks Community College $117,945 Sue Barnett sue.barnett@rrcc.edu
FL Pensacola University of West Florida $153,000 Cynthia Watson cwatson@uwf.edu
FL Miami Miami Dade College $170,590 Yolanda Borroto yborrot1@mdc.edu
HI Honolulu University of Hawaii $186,011 Wayne Watkins wwatkins@hawaii.edu
IL Grayslake College of Lake County $125,055 Sandra Groeninger chd201@clcillinois.edu
IL Chicago Heights Prairie State College $100,227 Kellie Clark kclark@prairiestate.edu
KS El Dorado Butler County Community College $95,579 Sue Barrientos ssommers@butlercc.edu
KS Manhattan Kansas State University $104,539 Debra Ring dring@ksu.edu
MA Gardner Mount Wachusett Community College $79,347 TBD TBD amcdonald@mwcc.mass.edu
MD Baltimore Baltimore City Community College $168,669 Jinaki Kambui mtowson@bccc.edu
MI Detroit Wayne State University $322,159 Anna Miller amiller@wayne.edu
MI Ann Arbor University of Michigan $132,564 Della Becker-Cornell dellac@umflint.edu
MI Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Community College $99,425 Jane Ann Benson jbenson@grcc.edu
MI Big Rapids Ferris State University $108,407 Lori Johnson johnsonl@ferris.edu
MI Flint Mott Community College $77,061 Susan Lechota susan.lechota@mcc.edu
MI Lansing Lansing Community College $331,870 Jane Bobay bobayj@lcc.edu
MN Winona Winona State University $86,266 June Reineke jmreineke@winona.edu
MN Minneapolis Minneapolis Community and Technical College $215,802 Mary Ann Prado Maryann.prado@minneapolis.edu
MO St. Louis St. Louis Community College $300,000 Selena Eunice seunice@stlcc.edu
MS Hattiesburg University of Southern Mississippi $288,839 Josh Duplantis joshua.duplantis@usm.edu
MT Billings Montana State University/ Billings $45,140 Stacy Klippenstein sklippenstein@msubillings.edu
NE Lincoln Southeast Community College $95,488 Kari Schell kschell@southeast.edu
NY New York CUNY/ Brooklyn College $284,301 Lorraine Mondesir mondesir@brooklyn.cuny.edu
NY Rochester Monroe Community College $361,960 Anne Barker abarker@monroecc.edu
NY Suffern SUNY/ Rockland Community College $84,723 Kyle Miller kmiller@sunyrockland.edu
NY Buffalo Erie Community College/ City Campus $91,000 Brenda Feidt fiedt@ecc.edu
NY Greenvale Long Island University $146,114 Guin Ellsworth guin.ellsworth@liu.edu
NY New York CUNY/ Borough of Manhattan Community College $324,558 Cecilia Scott-Croff cscottcroff@bmcc.cuny.edu
OK Ada East Central University $88,300 Melissa Malm mmalm@ecok.edu
OR Portland Portland Community College $179,538 Simone Chaves simone.chaves@pcc.edu
OR Roseburg Umpqua Community College $87,624 Ronda Stearns Ronda.Stearns@umpqua.edu
OR Eugene Lane Community College $216,401 Sue Norton nortons@lanecc.edu
PA Slippery Rock Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania $14,283 Debra Pincek debra.pincek@sru.edu
PA Williamsport Pennsylvania College of Technology $102,042 Barbara Albert balbert@pct.edu
PA Bethlehem Northampton County Area Community College $167,140 Faye Freer ffreer@northampton.edu
TX Edinburg University of Texas/ Pan American $360,172 Elda Perez perezmelda@utpa.edu
TX San Antonio San Antonio College $313,469 Ellen Marshall emarshall@alamo.edu
UT Logan Utah State University $361,549 Lisa Boyce lisa.boyce@usu.edu
UT Cedar City Southern Utah University $129,126 Joan Fitton joanfitton@suu.edu
VA Norfolk Old Dominion University $71,093 Jane Glasgow jglasgow@odu.edu
VA Charlottesville Piedmont Virginia Community College $52,586 Clifford Haury chaury@pvcc.edu
WA Spokane Washington State Community College/ Spokane $176,398 Patricia Allen Pallen@iel.spokane.edu
WA Lynnwood Edmonds Community College $21,484 Lisa Neumann lisa.neumann@edcc.edu
WA Pullman Washington State University $196,330 Elizabeth Jackson rose.jackson@wsu.edu
WI Milwaukee University of Wisconsin/ Milwaukee $294,526 Lisa Mosier mosierlm@uwm.edu
WI Madison University of Wisconsin/ Madison $186,493 Lynn Edlefson ledlefson@provost.wisc.edu
WV Morgantown West Virginia University $161,130 Leslie Haning leslie.haning@mail.wvu.edu

Tags: