Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards $24.6 Million to Enhance Predominantly Black Institutions


Contact:  
Press Office, (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov


U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the award of $24,601,758 to 62 colleges to enhance their capacity to serve low and middle-income African American students.

"These grants will help build the capacity of colleges that educate large numbers of African American students," Duncan said, "Strengthening these schools is critically important to increasing student completion and meeting President Obama's goal of being first in the world in college graduates by 2020."

Colleges are receiving funds under two programs that both support predominantly black institutions with an undergraduate enrollment that is at least 40 percent African American and at least 50 percent low-income or first-generation college students.

The first is a formula grant program, which awarded $9,601,758 to 35 schools in 14 states. The funds will be used for a wide range of projects that include academic instruction in disciplines in which Black Americans are underrepresented; tutoring; counseling service programs designed to improve student success; upgrading libraries, laboratories, and other instructional facilities, and establishing or enhancing a teacher education program, to name a few. These grants are funded for five years.

The other is a competitive grant program, which awarded $15,000,000 for 27 four-year grants to schools in 12 states. Funds in this program are used to establish or strengthen programs in specific areas: STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics); health education; internationalization; teacher preparation, and improving educational outcomes for African American males.

Note to editors: A list of grantees in each program, with contact information and award amount, follows:

FY 2011 Predominantly Black Institutions Awards—Formula Grant Program

Livingston, Alabama
Grantee:University of West Alabama
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Rebecca Harvard
Phone Number:205-652-3424
Email Address:bharvard@uwa.edu
Los Angeles, California
Grantee:Los Angeles Southwest College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Patrick Jefferson
Phone Number:323-241-5280
Email Address:jefferpd@lasc.edu
Americus, Georgia
Grantee:South Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:SuAnn Bird
Phone Number:229-931-2110
Atlanta, Georgia
Grantee:Atlanta Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mr. Rodney Ellis
Phone Number:404-225-4608
Email Address:rellis@atlantatech.edu
Augusta, Georgia
Grantee:Augusta Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mr. Charles Hall, Sr
Phone Number:706-771-4020
Email Address:chall@augustatech.edu
Clarkston, Georgia
Grantee:Dekalb Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Daryl Barksdale
Phone Number:404-207-9522
Email Address:barksdad@dekalbtech.edu
Columbus, Georgia
Grantee:Columbus Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mrs. Betty Jackson
Phone Number:706-649-1813
Email Address:bjackson@columbustech.edu
Decatur, Georgia
Grantee:Georgia Perimeter College
Year One Funding:$411,773
Director's Name:Dr. Margaret Ehrlich
Phone Number:770-274-5830
Email Address:margaret.ehrlich@gpc.edu
Macon, Georgia
Grantee:Central Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Elizabeth Hibbitts
Phone Number:478-757-3558
Email Address:hibbits@centralgatech.edu
Savannah, Georgia
Grantee:Savannah Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Ms. Gail Eubanks
Phone Number:912-443-3022
Email Address:geubanks@savannahtech.edu
Warner Robins, Georgia
Grantee:Middle Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Rick Hutto
Phone Number:478-988-6800
Email Address:rhutto@middlegatech.edu
Chicago, Illinois
Grantee:Chicago State University
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Juanita Sharpe
Phone Number:773-995-2183
Email Address:jsharp20@csu.edu
Grantee:City Colleges of Chicago Kennedy-King College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Katonja Webb
Phone Number:773-602-5020
Email Address:kwebb8@ccc.edu
Grantee:Malcolm X College- City Colleges of Chicago
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mr. Byron Javier
Phone Number:312-850-7140
Email Address:bjavier@ccc.edu
Grantee:Olive-Harvey College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Leonard Etlinger
Phone Number:312-553-2752
Email Address:etlinger@ccc.edu
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Grantee:Prairie State College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Adenuga Atewologun
Phone Number:708-799-3542
Email Address:aatewologun@prairiestate.edu
South Holland, Illinois
Grantee:South Suburban College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Ms. Songie Milhouse
Phone Number:708-210-5728
Email Address:smilhouse@sssc.edu
Indianapolis, Indiana
Grantee:Martin University
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Brian Steuerwald
Phone Number:317-917-3260
Email Address:bsteu@martin.edu
Baltimore, Maryland
Grantee:Baltimore City Community College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Michele Towson
Phone Number:410-462-8438
Email Address:mtowson@bccc.edu
Grantee:Sojourner-Douglass College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mr. Donald Hutchins
Phone Number:410-276-0306
Email Address:dhutchins@host.sdc.edu
Detroit, Michigan
Grantee:Wayne County Community College
Year One Funding:$577,381
Director's Name:Dr. George Swan
Phone Number:313-496-2510
Email Address:gswan1@wcccd.edu
St. Louis, Missouri
Grantee:Mississippi Delta Community College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Larry Bailey
Phone Number:662-246-6300
Email Address:lbailey@msdelta.edu
Grantee:St. Louis Community College
Year One Funding:$337,619
Director's Name:Keith Sayles
Phone Number:314-513-4510
Email Address:ksayles@stlcc.edu
Weldon, North Carolina
Grantee:Halifax Community College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Linnie Carter
Phone Number:252-536-7239
Email Address:carterl@halifaxcc.edu
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Grantee:Bloomfield College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Marion Terenzio
Phone Number:973-748-9000
Email Address:marion.terenzio@bloomfield.edu
Newark, New Jersey
Grantee:Essex County College
Year One Funding:$273,879
Director's Name:Dr. Neil DeHaan
Phone Number:973-877-3560
Email Address:ndehaanj@essex.edu
Brooklyn, New York
Grantee:Medgar Evers College-CUNY
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Claudia Schrader
Phone Number:718-270-5010
Email Address:cschrader@mec.cuny.edu
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Grantee:Pierce College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Rita Toliver
Phone Number:215-670-9265
Email Address:rjtoliver@pierce.edu
Community College of Philadelphia
Year One Funding:$445,129
Grantee:Kristen Starr
Director's Name:215-751-8227
Email Address:kstarr@ccp.edu
Beaufort, South Carolina
Grantee:Technical College of the Lowcountry
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Cindy Halsey
Phone Number:843-470-8396
Email Address:chalsey@tcl.edu
Cheraw, South Carolina
Grantee:Northeastern Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Mr. Dorr Depew
Phone Number:843-921-6910
Email Address:ddepew@netc.edu
Florence, South Carolina
Grantee:Francis Marion University
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Dr. Richard Chapman
Phone Number:843-661-1281
Email Address:rchapman@fmarion.edu
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Grantee:Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Donna Elmore
Phone Number:803-535-1202
Email Address:elmored@octech.edu
Sumter, South Carolina
Grantee:Central Carolina Technical College
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Lisa Bracken
Phone Number:803-778-6652
Email Address:brackenlm@cctech.edu
Memphis, Tennessee
Grantee:Southwest Tennessee Community College
Year One Funding:$305,977
Director's Name:Kristie Goldsmith
Phone Number:901-333-5201
Email Address:kagoldsmith@southwest.edu

FY 2011 Predominantly Black Institutions Program Awards—Competitive Grants

North Little Rock, Arkansas
Grantee:Pulaski Technical College—Department of Student Services Network for Student Success
Year One Funding:$582,557
Director's Name:Kareem Moody
Phone Number:(501) 812-2823
Email Address:kmoody@pulaskitech.edu
West Memphis, Arkansas
Grantee:Mid-South Community College
Year One Funding:$599,965
Director's Name:Gheric Bruce
Phone Number:(870) 733-6050
Culver City, California
Grantee:West Los Angeles College
Year One Funding:$599,983
Director's Name:Adrienne Foster
Phone Number:(310) 287-4589
Email Address:fosteraa@wlac.edu
Los Angeles, California
Grantee:Los Angeles Southwest College
Year One Funding:$593,144
Director's Name:Tangelia Alfred
Phone Number:(323) 241-5333
Email Address:alfredtm@lasc.edu
Albany, Georgia
Grantee:Albany Technical College—Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Angela Davis
Phone Number:(229) 430-1710
Email Address:adavis@albanytech.edu
Americus, Georgia
Grantee:South Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding:$157,585
Director's Name:Karen Werling
Phone Number:(229) 931-2902
Email Address:kwerling@southgatech.edu
Atlanta, Georgia
Grantee:Atlanta Technical College—Planning & Development
Year One Funding:$599,900
Director's Name:Rodney Ellis
Phone Number:(404) 225-4608
Email Address:rellis@atlantatech.edu
Augusta, Georgia
Grantee:Augusta Technical College—Student Aff./Academic Affairs Student Aff./Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$599,363
Director's Name:Melissa Frank-Alston
Phone Number:(706) 771-4035
Email Address:mfalston@augustatech.edu
Clarkston, Georgia
Grantee:DeKalb Technical College
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Daryl Barksdale
Phone Number:(404) 297-9522
Email Address:barksdad@dekalbtech.edu
Columbus, Georgia
Grantee:Columbus Technical College
Year One Funding:$599,983
Director's Name:Betty Jackson
Phone Number:(706) 649-1813
Email Address:bjackson@columbustech.edu
Chicago, Illinois
Grantee:Board of Trustees of Community College District 508—Olive Harvey College Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Vera Fullard
Phone Number:(773) 291-6309
Email Address:vfullard@ccc.edu
Grantee:Community Coll. Dist. #508, dba Kennedy-King College—Kennedy-King College Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$599,710
Director's Name:Katonja Webb
Phone Number:(773) 602-5020
Email Address:kwebb8@ccc.edu
Grantee:Chicago State University—College of Arts & Sciences
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:LeRoy Jones
Phone Number:(773) 995-2438
Email Address:ljones27@csu.edu
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Grantee:Prairie State College—Business, Math, and Science Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$588,686
Director's Name:Melanie Eddins-Spencer
Phone Number:(708) 709-3762
Email Address:meddins@prairiestate.edu
Baltimore, Maryland
Grantee:Baltimore City Community College
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Ja Hon Vance
Phone Number:(410) 462-8438
Grantee:Sojourner-Douglass College
Year One Funding:$599,998
Director's Name:Maija Anderson
Phone Number:(410) 276-0306
Email Address:manderson@host.sdc.edu
St. Louis, Missouri
Grantee:St. Louis Community College
Year One Funding:$157,585
Director's Name:Keith Sayles
Phone Number:(314) 513-4519
Email Address:ksayles@stlcc.edu
Moorhead, Mississippi
Grantee:Mississippi Delta Community College
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Mary Lush
Phone Number:(662) 246-6304
Email Address:mjlush@msdelta.edu
Raymond, Mississippi
Grantee:Hinds Community College District
Year One Funding:$590,253
Director's Name:Leroy Levy
Phone Number:(601) 987-8160
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Grantee:Bloomfield College—Academic Affairs Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Marion Terenzio
Phone Number:(973) 748-9000
Jamaica, New York
Grantee:York College of The City University of New York—Academic Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Panayiotis Meleties
Phone Number:(718) 262-2806
Email Address:pmeleties@york.cuny.edu
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Grantee:Community College of Philadelphia—Student Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Samuel Hirsch
Phone Number:(215) 751-8491
Email Address:shirsch@ccp.edu
Beaufort, South Carolina
Grantee:Technical College of the Lowcountry—Student Affairs Student Affairs
Year One Funding:$600,000
Director's Name:Rodney Adams
Phone Number:(843) 525-8219
Email Address:radams@tcl.edu
Florence, South Carolina
Grantee:Florence-Darlington Technical College
Year One Funding:$400,834
Director's Name:Shelley Fortin
Phone Number:(843) 999-9999
Email Address:shelly.fortin@fdtc.edu
Greenwood, South Carolina
Grantee:Piedmont Technical College
Year One Funding:$599,750
Director's Name:Andy Omundson
Phone Number:(864) 941-8357
Email Address:omundson.a@ptc.edu
Sumter, South Carolina
Grantee:Central Carolina Technical College
Year One Funding:$587,534
Director's Name:Lisa Bracken
Phone Number:(803) 778-6652
Email Address:brackenlm@cctech.edu
Memphis, Tennessee
Grantee:Southwest Tennessee Community College—Grants Institutional Advancement
Year One Funding:$524,394
Director's Name:Carol Tosh
Phone Number:(901) 333-4722
Email Address:catosh@southwest.tn.edu

Tags: