U.S. Department of Education Awards 23 Grants to Enhance Predominantly Black Institutions

Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Awards 23 Grants to Enhance Predominantly Black Institutions

October 1, 2010

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the award of $10.8 million to 23 colleges to enhance their capacity to serve low- and middle- income African-American students.

"This program provides valuable resources to ensure that African-American students are successful in college," Duncan said. "Schools funded by this program will play a vital role in meeting President Obama's goal for America to once again have the highest college completion rate by the end of the decade."

The funds may be used for a range of projects, including establishing community outreach programs to encourage elementary school and secondary school students to pursue postsecondary education; tutoring, counseling and service programs designed to improve academic success; and establishing or enhancing a teacher education program that intends to qualify students to teach in a public elementary or secondary school.

The grants are awarded from the Predominantly Black Institutions Program, which supports colleges that have an undergraduate enrollment that is at least 40 percent African-American and at least 50 percent low-income or first-generation college students.

Note to editors: A list of grantees and award amounts follow.

Livingston, Alabama
Grantee: University of West Alabama
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Rebecca Harvard
Phone Number:(205) 652-3424
Email Address: bharvard@uwa.edu

Culver City, California
Grantee: West Los Angeles College
Year One Funding: $611,045
Director's Name: Mark Pracher
Phone Number:(310) 287-4467
Email Address: prachem@wlac.edu

Los Angeles, California
Grantee: Los Angeles Southwest College
Year One Funding: $472,137
Director's Name: Patrick Jefferson
Phone Number: (323) 241-5280
Email Address: jefferpd@lasc.edu

Atlanta, Georgia
Grantee: Atlanta Technical College
Year One Funding: $419,198
Director's Name: Rodney Ellis
Phone Number: (404) 225-4608
Email Address: rellis@atlantatech.edu

Clarkston, Georgia
Grantee: DeKalb Technical College
Year One Funding: $482,613
Director's Name: Daryl Barksdale
Phone Number: (404) 297-9522
Email Address: barksdad@dekalbtech.edu

Columbus, Georgia
Grantee: Columbus Technical College
Year One Funding: $453,338
Director's Name: Betty Jackson
Phone Number: (706) 640-1813
Email Address: bjackson@columbustech.edu

Dublin, Georgia
Grantee: Heart of Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Amy Harrelson
Phone Number: (478) 274-3010
Email Address: aharrelson@heartofgatech.edu

Macon, Georgia
Grantee: Central Georgia Technical College
Year One Funding: $545,397
Director's Name: Elizabeth Hibbitts
Phone Number: (478) 757-3558
Email Address: hibbitts@centralgatech.edu

Sandersville, Georgia
Grantee: Sandersville Technical College
Year One Funding: $272,252
Director's Name: Lloyd Horadan
Phone Number: (478) 553-2060
Email Address: lhoradan@sandersvilletech.edu

Chicago, Illinois
Grantee: Malcolm X College
Year One Funding: $358,592
Director's Name: Byron Javier
Phone Number: (312) 850-7140
Email Address:


Grantee: Kennedy-King College
Year One Funding: $424,438
Director's Name: John Dozier
Phone Number: (773) 602-5016
Email Address: jdozier@ccc.edu


Grantee: Olive-Harvey College
Year One Funding: $272,999
Director's Name: Clyde El-Amin
Phone Number: (773) 291-6313
Email Address: celamin@ccc.edu

Baltimore, Maryland
Grantee: Sojourner Douglas College
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Don Hutchins
Phone Number: (410) 276-0306
Email Address: dhutchins@host.sdc.edu

St. Louis, Missouri
Grantee: St. Louis Community College
Year One Funding: $1,177,088
Director's Name: Keith Sayles
Phone Number: (314) 513-4540
Email Address: ksayles@stlcc.edu

Moorhead, Mississippi
Grantee: Mississippi Delta Community College
Year One Funding: $480,829
Director's Name: Mary Jean Lush
Phone Number: (662) 246-6304
Email Address: mjlush@msdelta.edu

Weldon, North Carolina
Grantee: Halifax Community College
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Thomas Schwartz
Phone Number: (252) 536-7239
Email Address: schwartzt@halifaxcc.edu

Bloomfield, New Jersey
Grantee: Bloomfield College
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Marion Terenzio
Phone Number: (973) 748-9000
Email Address: marion_terenzio@bloomfield.edu

Newark, New Jersey
Grantee: Essex County College
Year One Funding: $845,631
Director's Name: Neil DeHaan
Phone Number: (973) 877-3560
Email Address: ndehaanj@essex.edu

New York, New York
Grantee: Medgar Evers College
Year One Funding: $566,296
Director's Name: Claudia Schrader
Phone Number: (718) 270-5010
Email Address: cschrader@mec.cuny.edu

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Grantee: Community College of Philadelphia
Year One Funding: $1,351,494
Director's Name: Samuel Hirsch
Phone Number: (215) 751-8491
Email Address: shirsch@ccp.edu

Beaufort, South Carolina
Grantee: Technical College of the Lowcountry
Year One Funding: $250,000
Director's Name: Wesla Fletcher
Phone Number: (843) 525-8293
Email Address: wfletcher@tcl.edu

Cheraw, South Carolina
Grantee: Northeastern Technical College
Year One Funding: $256,011
Director's Name: Dorr Depew
Phone Number: (843) 921-6010
Email Address: ddepew@netc.edu

Orangeburg, South Carolina
Grantee: Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
Year One Funding: $311,642
Director's Name: Donna Elmore
Phone Number: (803) 535-1371
Email Address: elmored@octech.edu