Archived Information

U.S. Department of Education Announces Grants for $25 Million to Charter School Management Organizations


Contact:  
Press Office , (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov


The U.S. Department of Education announced today charter school grants totaling $25 million to replicate and expand high-quality charter schools that have demonstrated success. Today's grants will serve nearly 45,000 students in 124 new and 3 expanded charter schools over the next five years.

“Several high-quality charter schools across the country are making an amazing difference in our children's lives, especially when charters in inner-city communities are performing as well, if not better, than their counterparts in much wealthier suburbs,”Duncan said. “Every one of our grantees serves a student population that is majority low-income and virtually all exceed the average academic performance for all students in their state.”

The Administration will invest more than $250 million this year to assist in the planning and implementation of public charter schools and dissemination of their successful practices through the Charter School Grants Program. In addition, the President's fiscal year 2012 budget requests $372 million for Expanding Educational Options, which includes grants for supporting effective charter schools.

The purpose of the Charter School Grants Program is to increase financial support for these public schools, build a better national understanding of the public charter school model and increase the number of high-quality public charter schools across the nation.

More information about the Charter Schools Program is available from the Department's Office of Innovation and Improvement at: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oii/csp/index.html.

The following table includes the fiscal year 2011 award amount for each grantee.

Name Funding Amount Project Description Grant Contact**
KIPP Foundation in consortium with KIPP regions $9,463,103.00 18 new schools in Atlanta, GA, Austin, TX, Chicago, IL, Washington, DC, Gaston, NC, Houston, TX, Jacksonville, FL, Los Angeles, CA, Memphis, TN, Newark, NJ, New York, NY, and San Antonio, TX Rachel Goldklang, (415) 513-4109 or rgoldklalng@kipp.org
Rocketship Education $1,881,569.00 56 new schools in Oakland, Milwaukee, New Orleans, and Chicago Carolyn Davies, (877) 806-0920, ext. 212, or rgoldklalng@kipp.org
DC Preparatory Academy $878,824.00 4 new schools in Washington, DC Emily Lawson, (202) 635-4590 or elawson@dcprep.org
Success Charter Network, Inc. $1,740,970.00 Project description: 6 new schools in New York Keri Hoyt, (646) 747-2359 or keri.hoyt@successcharters.org
Richard Milburn Academy, Inc. $1,575,562.00 6 new schools in Texas Peter Briggs, (978) 741-7161 or btamez@nesihq.org
Uncommon Schools $1,400,000.00 9 new schools in Newark and Boston Carolyn Hack, (212) 844-7905 or chack@uncommonschools.org
Breakthrough Charter Schools $3,488,060.00 8 new schools and 3 expanded schools in Cleveland, OH Kenneth Surratt, (216) 456-2086 or ksurratt@breakthroughcleveland.org
Alliance College Ready Public Schools $3,139,983.00 10 new schools in Los Angeles Judy Burton, (213) 943-4933 or jburton@laalliance.org
Cosmos Foundation, Inc. $1,431,929.00 7 new schools in Texas Kadir Almus, (713) 343-3333 or kalmus@harmonytx.org


Notice of Language Assistance: English  |  español  |  中文: 繁體版  |  Việt-ngữ  |  한국어  |  Tagalog  |  Русский