Archived Information

New GEAR UP Grants Awarded to Help More Than 275,000 Middle-Schoolers Get on the Pathway for Success in College

66 GEAR UP Grants receive $177 million

Contact:  
Jane Glickman, (202) 401-1576, jane.glickman@ed.gov


U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the award of $ 177.4 million for 66 grants under Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs (GEAR UP) that will help some 275,000 at-risk students to prepare for college and receive the support they need to achieve success in postsecondary education.

"We know innovative programs like GEAR UP that intervene early can make all the difference in whether young people go to college," Duncan said. "These grants provide the mentoring, support, and financial aid that will give thousands of students a greater opportunity to achieve success in postsecondary education."

Two types of grants are being awarded: $77.3 million for 19 state grants: California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Another $100.1 million is being awarded for 47 partnership grants in 24 states.

Both state and partnership grants are competitive six or seven-year matching grant programs that target entire grades of students, partner with local organizations and businesses, and include matching local contributions and in-kind services. Grantees serve an entire group of students, usually beginning no later than seventh grade, and follow them throughout high school.

This year, for the first time in any Department of Education grant program, applicants were encouraged to include a college savings program as one of their strategies. Research from the Center for Social Development at Washington University in St. Louis indicates that students with savings accounts are up to six times more likely to enroll in college, even controlling for household income and student grades. Forty-two of the winning grantees—both state and partnership grants—plan to provide college savings accounts for their students, along with financial and economic literacy activities.

Applicants were also encouraged to address how they would work to turn around the lowest-performing schools, enable more data-based decision-making, and implement college- and career-ready standards.

State grants include both a required activities component and a scholarship component. The required activities component seeks to increase college attendance and completion by raising low-income students' awareness of college and financial aid options, increasing their participation in academically challenging courses, and supporting them through the college admissions process. The scholarship component requires the state to maintain a financial assistance program for GEAR UP students to attend institutions of higher education.

Partnership projects must include at least one low-income middle school, one college or university, and two community or business organizations. Partners work together to provide students and their families with a range of support services needed to prepare for college, including mentoring, counseling, tutoring, and summer programs to succeed in higher level math and other gateway college preparatory courses, as well as information about college and financial aid options.

In addition to the 66 new grants announced today, GEAR UP is funding 88 continuation projects begun in the last five years that are providing these comprehensive support services to approximately 305,000 middle and high school students.

Note to Editors: Attached are the two lists of GEAR UP grantees: Partnership Grants and State Grants, with first-year funding amounts and local contact information.

FY 2011 GEAR UP Partnership Awards

Homer, Alaska
Grantee:Project GRAD Kenai Peninsula
Year One Funding:$128,000
Director's Name:Tim Vlasak
Phone Number:(907) 714-8862
Email Address:tvlasak@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
Helena-West Helena, Arkansas
Grantee:Phillips Community College-University of Arkansas
Year One Funding:$1,019,199
Director's Name:Kyle Miller
Phone Number:(870) 338-6474
Email Address:smurray@pccua.edu
Davis, California
Grantee:Regents of the University of California
Year One Funding:$1,800,000
Director's Name:Lianne Richelieu-Boren
Phone Number:(530) 245-1844
Email Address:lrrichelieu@ucdavis.edu
Fullerton, California
Grantee:California State University, Fullerton
Year One Funding:$972,596
Director's Name:Kandy Mink Salas
Phone Number:(657) 278-2979
Email Address:kmink@fullerton.edu
Los Angeles, California
Grantee:Los Angeles Unified School District- GEAR UP 4 LA
Year One Funding:$3,017,600
Director's Name:Micaela Vazquez-Hahn
Phone Number:(323) 422-3398
Email Address:mjv1705@lausd.net
Los Angeles, California
Grantee:Los Angeles Unified School District
Year One Funding:$1,357,905
Director's Name:Yolia Aguirre-Goar
Phone Number:(818) 753-6255
Email Address:yoliaa@aol.com
Oceanside, California
Grantee:MiraCosta Community College District
Year One Funding:$1,076,052
Director's Name:Richard Robertson
Phone Number:(760) 795-6898
Email Address:drobertson@miracosta.edu
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Grantee:Marymount College
Year One Funding:$2,697,979
Director's Name:Ford Roosevelt
Phone Number:(818) 760-4695
Email Address:froosevelt@projectgradla.org
San Marcos, California
Grantee:Palomar Community College District
Year One Funding:$2,524,920
Director's Name:Calvin One Deer Gavin
Phone Number:(760) 744-1150
Email Address:onedeer@palomar.edu
Santa Cruz, California
Grantee:The Regents of the University of California, Santa Cruz
Year One Funding:$1,121,600
Director's Name:Maria Rocha-Ruiz
Phone Number:(831) 459-1811
Email Address:mgrruiz@ucsc.edu
Grantee:The Regents of the University of California, Santa Cruz
Year One Funding:$1,232,800
Director's Name:Maria Rocha-Ruiz
Phone Number:(831) 459-1811
Email Address:mgrruiz@ucsc.edu
Denver, Colorado
Grantee:School District 1, City and Council of Denver
Year One Funding:$731,976
Director's Name:Gary Cooper
Phone Number:(720) 423-6814
Email Address:Gary_Cooper@dpsk12.org
New Haven, Connecticut
Grantee:Yale University
Year One Funding:$1,148,000
Director's Name:Nadia Ward
Phone Number:(203) 789-7645
Email Address:nadia.ward@yale.edu
Miami, Florida
Grantee:Miami Dade College Wolfson Campus
Year One Funding:$791,338
Director's Name:Madeline Pumariega
Phone Number:(305) 277-7600
Email Address:mpumarie@mdc.edu
Macon, Georgia
Grantee:Bibb County School District
Year One Funding:$2,872,058
Director's Name:Sharon Roberts
Phone Number:(478) 765-8527
Email Address:sroberts@bibb.k12.ga.us
Savannah, Georgia
Grantee:Savannah State University
Year One Funding:$400,000
Director's Name:Tamara Waterman
Phone Number:(912) 644-5991
Email Address:waterman@savannahstate.edu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Grantee:University of Hawaii
Year One Funding:$367,891
Director's Name:Joseph Mobley
Phone Number:(808) 454-4773
Email Address:jmobley@uhwo.hawaii.edu
Chicago, Illinois
Grantee:Northeastern Illinois University
Year One Funding:$7,027,200
Director's Name:Margaret Boyter-Escalona
Phone Number:(312) 733-7330
Email Address:M-Boyter@neiu.edu
Lawrence, Kansas
Grantee:University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc.
Year One Funding:$640,000
Director's Name:Ngondi Kamatuka
Phone Number:(785) 864-3401
Email Address:kamatuka@ku.edu
Grantee:University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc.
Year One Funding:$640,000
Director's Name:Ngondi Kamatuka
Phone Number:(785) 864-3401
Email Address:kamatuka@ku.edu
Berea, Kentucky
Grantee:Berea College
Year One Funding:$5,688,800
Director's Name:Dreama Gentry
Phone Number:(859) 985-3853
Email Address:dreama_gentry@berea.edu
Grantee:Berea College
Year One Funding:$4,983,200
Director's Name:Dreama Gentry
Phone Number:(859) 985-3853
Email Address:dreama_gentry@berea.edu
Roswell, New Mexico
Grantee:Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell
Year One Funding:$1,380,800
Director's Name:Steve Markl
Phone Number:(575) 624-7067
Las Vegas, Nevada
Grantee:Board of Regents, NSHE obo University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Year One Funding:$2,881,608
Director's Name:William Sullivan
Phone Number:(702) 895-4777
Email Address:william.sullivan@unlv.edu
Grantee:Board of Regents, NSHE obo University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Year One Funding:$1,660,733
Director's Name:William Sullivan
Phone Number:(702) 895-4777
Email Address:william.sullivan@unlv.edu
Grantee:Board of Regents, NSHE obo University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Year One Funding:$2,464,426
Director's Name:William Sullivan
Phone Number:(702) 895-4777
Email Address:william.sullivan@unlv.edu
Utica, New York
Grantee:Mohawk Valley Community College
Year One Funding:$519,790
Director's Name:Franca Armstrong
Phone Number:(315) 792-5321
Email Address:farmstrong@mvcc.edu
Lorain, Ohio
Grantee:Lorain City School District
Year One Funding:$400,000
Director's Name:Rachel Tansey
Phone Number:(440) 233-2359
Email Address:rtansey@lorain.k12.oh.us
Norman, Oklahoma
Grantee:The Board of Regents of the University of Oklahoma
Year One Funding:$3,716,800
Director's Name:Scott Wilson
Phone Number:(405) 325-2608
Email Address:scott.wilson@ou.edu
Wilburton, Oklahoma
Grantee:Eastern Oklahoma State College
Year One Funding:$1,885,600
Director's Name:Linda Morgan
Phone Number:(918) 465-1722
Email Address:lmorgan@eosc.edu
Portland, Oregon
Grantee:School District 1J Multnomah County
Year One Funding:$1,322,080
Director's Name:Susan Jordan
Phone Number:(503) 916-3447
Email Address:sjordan@pps.k12.or.us
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Grantee:School District of Lancaster
Year One Funding:$1,199,288
Director's Name:Barbara Lombardo
Phone Number:(717) 291-6149
Email Address:bwlombardo@lancaster.k12.pa.us
Charleston, South Carolina
Grantee:Charleston County School District
Year One Funding:$882,025
Director's Name:Virginia Reijners
Phone Number:(843) 937-6300
Email Address:virginia_reijners@charleston.k12.sc.us
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Grantee:The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Year One Funding:$624,512
Director's Name:Hunter Huckabay
Phone Number:(423) 425-5386
Email Address:Hunter-Huckabay@utc.edu
Alpine, Texas
Grantee:Sul Ross State University
Year One Funding:$772,000
Director's Name:Aster Trevino
Phone Number:(432) 837-8807
Email Address:atrevino@sulross.edu
Edinburg, Texas
Grantee:Region One Education Service Center
Year One Funding:$6,999,176
Director's Name:Tina Atkins
Phone Number:(956) 984-6220
Email Address:tatkins@esc1.net
El Paso, Texas
Grantee:The University of Texas at El Paso
Year One Funding:$2,701,830
Director's Name:Juliette Caire
Phone Number:(915) 747-5367
Email Address:jcaire@utep.edu
Laredo, Texas
Grantee:Texas A&M International University
Year One Funding:$6,396,824
Director's Name:Julio Madrigal
Phone Number:(956) 326-2720
Email Address:jfmadrigal@tamiu.edu
Nacogdoches, Texas
Grantee:Stephen F. Austin State University
Year One Funding:$1,184,997
Director's Name:Betty Alford
Phone Number:(936) 468-2908
Email Address:balford@sfasu.edu
San Antonio, Texas
Grantee:San Antonio Independent School District
Year One Funding:$4,000,000
Director's Name:Roxanne Rosales
Phone Number:(210) 354-3626
Email Address:rrosales@saisd.net
Waco, Texas
Grantee:Education Service Center Region 12
Year One Funding:$3,000,000
Director's Name:Glynis Rosas
Phone Number:(254) 297-1108
Email Address:grosas@esc12.net
Ogden, Utah
Grantee:Ogden School District
Year One Funding:$799,100
Director's Name:Kathleen Bideaux
Phone Number:(801) 737-7382
Ellensburg, Washington
Grantee:Central Washington University
Year One Funding:$1,632,000
Director's Name:Julie Guggino
Phone Number:(509) 963-2640
Email Address:gugginoj@cwu.edu
Pullman, Washington
Grantee:Washington State University
Year One Funding:$2,996,800
Director's Name:Genoveva Morales
Phone Number:(509) 372-7308
Email Address:gmorales@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
Grantee:Washington State University
Year One Funding:$2,309,600
Director's Name:Genoveva Morales
Phone Number:(509) 372-7308
Email Address:gmorales@earlyoutreach.wsu.edu
Seattle, Washington
Grantee:University of Washington
Year One Funding:$3,964,000
Director's Name:Loueta Johnson
Phone Number:(509) 865-8670
Email Address:johnsonl@u.washington.edu
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Grantee:Milwaukee Public Schools
Year One Funding:$2,212,000
Director's Name:Caroline Williams
Phone Number:(414) 475-8174
Email Address:williac2@milwaukee.k12.wi.us

FY 2011 GEAR UP State Grants Awards

Oakland, California
Grantee:The Regents of the University of California
Year One Funding:$5,000,000
Director's Name:Penny Edgert
Phone Number:(916) 327-1821
Email Address:pedgert@cde.ca.gov
Denver, Colorado
Grantee:Colorado Department of Higher Education
Year One Funding:$5,000,000
Director's Name:Scott Mendelsberg
Phone Number:(303) 866-2723
Email Address:scott.mendelsberg@dhe.state.co.us
Honolulu, Hawaii
Grantee:University of Hawaii
Year One Funding:$3,425,674
Director's Name:Angela Jackson
Phone Number:(808) 956-3250
Email Address:angela.jackson@hawaii.edu
Boise, Idaho
Grantee:Idaho State Department of Education
Year One Funding:$3,252,744
Director's Name:Carina Davio
Phone Number:(208) 332-6944
Email Address:cdavio@sde.idaho.gov
Frankfort, Kentucky
Grantee:General Government Cabinet, Kentucky
Year One Funding:$4,487,000
Director's Name:Yvonne Lovell
Phone Number:(502) 573-1555
Email Address:yvonne.lovell@ky.gov
Revere, Massachusetts
Grantee:Massachusetts Board of Higher Education System
Year One Funding:$5,000,000
Director's Name:Robert Dais
Phone Number:(617) 727-9420
Email Address:rdais@osfa.mass.edu
Lansing, Michigan
Grantee:Michigan Strategic Fund
Year One Funding:$3,360,140
Director's Name:Rudy Redmond
Phone Number:(517) 373-9700
Email Address:redmondr@michigan.gov
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Grantee:Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Year One Funding:$3,100,010
Director's Name:Mary Lou Dresbach
Phone Number:(651) 259-3940
Helena, Montana
Grantee:Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
Year One Funding:$4,000,000
Director's Name:Sandra Merdinger
Phone Number:(406) 444-0317
Email Address:smerdinger@montana.edu
Trenton, New Jersey
Grantee:New Jersey Commission on Higher Education
Year One Funding:$3,978,424
Director's Name:Glenn Lang
Phone Number:(609) 292-4310
Email Address:glang@che.state.nj.us
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Grantee:Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
Year One Funding:$4,999,183
Director's Name:Jolynn Horn
Phone Number:(405) 225-9376
Email Address:jhorn@osrhe.edu
Providence, Rhode Island
Grantee:Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education
Year One Funding:$3,097,787
Director's Name:William Formicola
Phone Number:(401) 854-5500
Email Address:wformicola@thecollegecrusade.org
Columbia, South Carolina
Grantee:South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
Year One Funding:$3,499,482
Director's Name:Karen Woodfaulk
Phone Number:(803) 737-2244
Email Address:kwoodfaulk@che.sc.gov
Pierre, South Dakota
Grantee:South Dakota Department of Education
Year One Funding:$3,483,736
Director's Name:Roger Campbell
Phone Number:(605) 773-3783
Email Address:Roger.Campbell@state.sd.us
Orem, Utah
Grantee:Utah Valley University
Year One Funding:$3,982,438
Director's Name:Laurie Miller
Phone Number:(801) 863-6000
Email Address:laurie.miller@uvu.edu
Winooski, Vermont
Grantee:Vermont Student Assistance Corporation
Year One Funding:$4,591,852
Director's Name:Linda Shiller
Phone Number:(800) 642-3177
Email Address:shiller@vsac.org
Olympia, Washington
Grantee:Washington State Higher Education Coordinating Board
Year One Funding:$4,500,000
Director's Name:Weiya Liang
Phone Number:(360) 753-7884
Email Address:weiyal@hecb.wa.gov
Madison, Wisconsin
Grantee:Department of Public Instruction
Year One Funding:$5,000,000
Director's Name:Bonnie Dockry
Phone Number:(715) 836-3469
Email Address:bonnie.dockry@dpi.wi.gov
Laramie, Wyoming
Grantee:University of Wyoming
Year One Funding:$3,548,876
Director's Name:Judy Trujillo
Phone Number:(307) 766-6189
Email Address:jtrujil7@uwyo.edu

Tags: