Archived Information

Education Department Awards Nearly $2.9 Million to Colleges and Universities to Strengthen Minority Participation in STEM-Related Fields


Contact:  
Press Office, (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov


U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced that 12 colleges and universities that serve large minority populations will receive $2,898,578 in grants to strengthen education programs in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields.

Under the Minority Science and Engineering Improvement Program (MSEIP), grants were awarded to institutions in California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, and Texas to increase the number of ethnic minorities, particularly ethnic women, studying in STEM fields.

"These grants will help prepare more minority students for STEM-related (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) careers, which are in high-demand and critical to building a competitive workforce that will grow our economy," Duncan said.

MSEIP supports the Administration's overall goal of improving STEM education to increase America's technological and scientific competitiveness. In addition to the goal of these grants – to expand career opportunities for underrepresented groups, especially women --the Administration is also working to improve the quality of math and science teaching in our Nation's schools so that students can master challenging content, think critically in STEM-related subjects, and are no longer outperformed by students in other nations.

MSEIP is currently supporting 38 continuation grants, in addition to the 12 three-year grants awarded today.

FY 2011 Minority Science and Engineering Improvement Awards

Email Address:
Bakersfield, California
Grantee:California State University, Bakersfield
Year One Funding:$244,537
Director's Name:Charles Lam
Phone Number:(661) 654-2403
Email Address:clam@csub.edu
Los Angeles, California
Grantee:Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
Year One Funding:$250,000
Director's Name:Chris Reid
Phone Number:(323) 357-3653
Email Address:chrisreid@cdrewu.edu
Washington, District of Columbia
Grantee:University of the District of Columbia
Year One Funding:$249,999
Director's Name:Abdi Darai
Phone Number:(202) 272-5433
Email Address:adarai@udc.edu
Miami, Florida
Grantee:Miami Dade College InterAmerican Campus
Year One Funding:$208,034
Director's Name:Victor Okafor
Phone Number:(305) 237-6717
Email Address:vokafor@mdc.edu
Augusta, Georgia
Grantee:Paine College
Year One Funding:$240,129
Director's Name:Derek Stone
Phone Number:(706) 821-8203
Email Address:dstone@paine.edu
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Grantee:Elizabeth City State University
Year One Funding:$282,957
Director's Name:Ali Khan
Phone Number:(252) 335-3250
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Grantee:University of Puerto Rico - Arecibo Campus
Year One Funding:$249,922
Director's Name:Jose Candelaria
Phone Number:(787) 815-0000
Email Address:jose.candelaria@upr.edu
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Grantee:University of Puerto Rico at Humacao
Year One Funding:$183,161
Director's Name:Jorge Zayas
Phone Number:(787) 850-9387
Email Address:jorge.zayas@upr.edu
Brownsville, Texas
Grantee:University of Texas at Brownsville
Year One Funding:$249,983
Director's Name:Mikhail Bouniaev
Phone Number:(956) 882-6701
Email Address:mikhail.bouniaev@utb.edu
El Paso, Texas
Grantee:The University of Texas at El Paso
Year One Funding:$196,134
Director's Name:Peter Golding
Phone Number:(915) 747-8125
Email Address:pgolding@utep.edu
Houston, Texas
Grantee:Houston Community College
Year One Funding:$294,135
Director's Name:Juan Carlos Reina
Phone Number:(713) 718-5225
Email Address:juan.reina@hccs.edu
Laredo, Texas
Grantee:Texas A&M International University
Year One Funding:$249,587
Director's Name:Rafic Bachnak
Phone Number:(956) 326-2408
Email Address:rbachnak@tamiu.edu


Notice of Language Assistance: English  |  español  |  中文: 繁體版  |  Việt-ngữ  |  한국어  |  Tagalog  |  Русский