Archived Information

Education Department Awards More Than $2.7 Million to 12 Colleges to Strengthen Minority Participation in STEM-Related Fields


Contact:  
Press Office, (202) 401-1576, press@ed.gov


U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced that 12 colleges and universities that serve large minority populations will receive $2,748,619 in grants to strengthen education programs in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields.

Under the Minority Science and Engineering Improvement Program (MSEIP), 10 awards were made for Institutional Projects, one award for Cooperative Project, and one award for Special Project.

"America's capacity to build and create should never be limited by a shortage of talent in the STEM fields," Secretary Duncan said. "These grants ensure that more minorities are prepared for these high-demand jobs, which are so essential to building a competitive workforce and growing our economy."

MSEIP supports the Administration's overall goal of improving STEM education to improve America's technological and scientific competitiveness. In addition to the goal of these grants – to expand career opportunities for underrepresented groups, especially women --the Administration is also working to improve the quality of math and science teaching in our Nation's schools so that students can master challenging content, think critically in STEM-related subjects, and are no longer outperformed by students in other nations.

Under a competitive preference priority, this year the applicants were invited to address the need to 'increase the number and proportion of high-need students who persist in and complete college or other postsecondary education and training.' They were also invited to address the invitational priorities to 'institutionalize practices which have evidence of success,' and to 'improve STEM education in the first two years of college.'

These grants were awarded to institutions in California, Florida, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and Texas. MSEIP is currently supporting 26 continuation grants, in addition to the 12 three-year grants awarded today.

Following is the list of awardees, alphabetical by state, with first-year award amount and contact information.

FY 2013 MSEIP (Minority Science and Engineering Improvement Program) Awards

California

College of the Sequoias, Visalia ----, $249,242
Larry Owens, Llarryo@cos.edu, (559) 730-3893

Florida

Florida A & M University, Tallahassee---- $239,240
Clayton Clark, clayton.clarkii@famu.edu, (850) 410, 6122

New York

Medgar Evers College, Brooklyn ----$250,000
Umesh Nagarkatte, umesh@mec.cuny.edu, (718) 270-6425

Pennsylvania

Community College of Philadelphia---- $216,149
Linda Powell, lpowell@ccp.edu; (215)751-8554

Puerto Rico

Universidad Metropolitana---- $245,475
Gabriel Infante, ginfante1@suagm.edu, (787) 766 1700 Ext 6406

Texas

University of Texas at Brownsville---- $206,637
Yong Zhou, Yyong.zhou@utb.edu, (956) 882 6758

University of Texas at El Paso ----$171,727
Peter Golding, pgolding@utep.du; (915)747-8125

University of Texas at El Paso---- $300,000
Tsu-Liang Tseng, btseng@utep.edu; (915) 747-7990

University of Texas at El Paso---- $198,672
Elizabeth Walsh, ewalsh@utep.edu, (915) 747 5421

University of Houston---- $175,341
Mary Parker, parkerm@uhd.edu, (773) 221-8471

Texas A&M University, Kingsville---- $246,146
Mohamed Abdelrahman, Mohamed.Abdelrahman@tamuk.edu, (361) 593-2809

Texas College, Tyler---$250,000
Linda Johnson, ljohnson@texascollege.edu (903) 593-8311