Archived Information

96 Historically Black Institutions Receive $84.775 Million to Strengthen Their Programs


Contact:  
Jane Glickman , (202) 401-1576 , press@ed.gov


U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced the award of $84.775 million to 96 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) to strengthen their facilities and academic programs to improve education for their students.

"HBCUs play an essential role in helping our Nation boost college completion rates and achieve the President's goal for America to again have the highest percentage of college graduates in the world by 2020," Duncan said. "These grants provide HBCUs with needed resources to enhance their programs and services that will enable their students to graduate and succeed in the workplace."

Grants awarded under the Strengthening Historically Black Colleges and Universities Program support a variety of activities that improve and expand course offerings, student services, campus facilities, and faculty and staff development. Funds may also be used to establish teacher education programs designed to qualify students to teach in public schools, financial and economic literacy programs for students and families, and community outreach programs that encourage elementary and secondary school students to develop high-level academic skills and interest in postsecondary education.

The awards are formula grants based on data provided by eligible institutions. To be eligible for funding, institutions must have been established prior to 1964 and have as a principal mission the education of African Americans.

Note to Editors: A list of grantees and award amounts are attached.
FY 2010 Strengthening Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs)

ALABAMA

Birmingham
Grantee:Miles College
Year One Funding:$898,077
Director's Name:W. Frank Topping
Phone Number:(205) 929-1448
Email Address:WFTOPPING@MILES.EDU

Grantee:Lawson State Community College
Year One Funding:$1,025,914
Director's Name:Myrtes Green
Phone Number:(205) 929-6305
Email Address:MDGREEN@LAWSONSTATE.EDU
Gadsden, Alabama
Grantee:Gadsden State Community College - Valley Street Campus
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Tarva Vaughn
Phone Number:(256) 549-8674
Email Address:TVAUGHN@GADSDENSTATE.EDU
Huntsville, Alabama
Grantee:J.F. Drake State Technical College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Ina Wilson
Phone Number:(256) 551-3115
Email Address:INA.WILSON@DRAKESTATE.EDU

Grantee:Oakwood University
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Ivy Starks
Phone Number:(256) 726-7003
Email Address:STARKS@OAKWOOD.EDU
Mobile, Alabama
Grantee:Bishop State - Carver Campus
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Reginald Crenshaw
Phone Number:(251) 405-7231
Email Address:RCRENSHAW@BISHOP.EDU

Grantee:Bishop State Community College
Year One Funding:$753,066
Director's Name:Reginald Crenshaw
Phone Number:(251) 405-7231
Email Address:RCRENSHAW@BISHOP.EDU
Montgomery, Alabama
Grantee:Alabama State University
Year One Funding:$1,269,377
Director's Name:Danielle Kennedy-Lamar
Phone Number:(334) 229-6969
Email Address:dkennedylamar@alasu.edu

Grantee:H. Councill Trenholm State Technical College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Arlinda Knight
Phone Number:(334) 420-4235
Email Address:AKNIGHT@TRENHOLMSTATE.EDU
Normal, Alabama
Grantee:Alabama A&M University
Year One Funding:$1,101,230
Director's Name:Savoni Chastine
Phone Number:(256) 372-5550
Email Address:SAVONI.HAYWOOD@NETSCAPE.NET
Selma, Alabama
Grantee:Concordia College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Phyllis Richardson
Phone Number:(334) 874-5700
Email Address:PHRICHARDSON@CONCORDIASELMA.EDU
Talladega, Alabama
Grantee:Talladega College
Year One Funding:$760,779
Director's Name:Melody Borden
Phone Number:(256) 761-6207
Email Address:MWWILSON@TALLADEGA.EDU
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Grantee:Shelton State Community College - C.A. Fredd Campus
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Ronald Range
Phone Number:(205) 391-2644
Email Address:RRANGE@SHELTONSTATE.EDU

Grantee:Stillman College
Year One Funding:$764,182
Director's Name:Luanne Baker
Phone Number:(205) 247-8147
Email Address:LBAKER@STILLMAN.EDU
Tuskegee, Alabama
Grantee:Tuskegee University
Year One Funding:$964,802
Director's Name:Charlotte Morris
Phone Number:(334) 727-8501
Email Address:CPATT@TUSKEGEE.EDU

ARKANSAS

Little Rock, Arkansas
Grantee:Arkansas Baptist College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Vivian Doyne
Phone Number:(501) 244-4992
Email Address:VIVIAN.DOYNE@ARKANSASBAPTIST.EDU

Grantee:Philander Smith College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Alvin Anglin
Phone Number:(501) 370-5316
Email Address:UBALVIN@PHILANDER.EDU
Pine Bluff , Arkansas
Grantee:University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Year One Funding:$1,166,385
Director's Name:Margaret Martin-Hall
Phone Number:(870) 575-8064
Email Address:HALLM@UAPB.EDU

DISTRICT of COLUMBIA

Grantee:University of the District of Columbia
Year One Funding:$944,458
Director's Name:Ernesta Williams
Phone Number:(202) 274-5718
Email Address:EPENDLETON@UDC.EDU

DELAWARE

Dover
Grantee:Delaware State University
Year One Funding:$869,546
Director's Name:Veronica Hopkins
Phone Number:(302) 857-7350
Email Address:RHOPKINS@DESU.EDU

FLORIDA

Daytona Beach
Grantee:Bethune-Cookman University
Year One Funding:$1,052,247
Director's Name:Chelsea Shell
Phone Number:(386) 481-2041
Email Address:SHELLC@COOKMAN.EDU
Jacksonville, Florida
Grantee:Edward Waters College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Lois Washburn
Phone Number:(904) 470-8266
Email Address:LOIS.WASHBURN@EWC.EDU
Miami Gardens, Florida
Grantee:Florida Memorial University
Year One Funding:$865,994
Director's Name:Langston Coleman
Phone Number:(305) 623-4227
Email Address:LCOLEMAN@FMUNIV.EDU
Tallahassee, Florida
Grantee:Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Year One Funding:$1,858,587
Director's Name:Rosalind Fuse-Hall
Phone Number:(850) 599-3527
Email Address:ROSALIND.FUSE-HALL@FAMU.EDU

GEORGIA

Albany
Grantee:Albany State University
Year One Funding:$1,177,188
Director's Name:Connie Leggett
Phone Number:(229) 430-1917
Email Address:CONNIE.LEGGETT@ASURAMS.EDU
Atlanta, Georgia
Grantee:Morehouse College
Year One Funding:$899,855
Director's Name:Alana Veal
Phone Number:(404) 653-7747
Email Address:AVEAL@MOREHOUSE.EDU

Grantee:Clark Atlanta University
Year One Funding:$993,524
Director's Name:Perry Herrington
Phone Number:(404) 880-8078
Email Address:PHERRINGTON@CAU.EDU

Grantee:Spelman College
Year One Funding:$870,793
Director's Name:Helga Greenfield
Phone Number:(404) 270-6425
Email Address:HGREENFIELD@SPELMAN.EDU
Augusta , Georgia
Grantee:Paine College
Year One Funding:$777,575
Director's Name:Cheryl Jones
Phone Number:(706) 821-8231
Email Address:cevansjones@paine.edu
Fort Valley, Georgia
Grantee:Fort Valley State University
Year One Funding:$913,079
Director's Name:Melody Carter
Phone Number:(478) 825-6397
Email Address:CARTERM0@FVSU.EDU
Savannah, Georgia
Grantee:Savannah State University
Year One Funding:$1,003,811
Director's Name:Curdedra Andrews
Phone Number:(912) 358-4061
Email Address:ANDREWSD@SAVANNAHSTATE.EDU

KENTUCKY

Frankfort
Grantee:Kentucky State University
Year One Funding:$903,393
Director's Name:Mary Sias
Phone Number:(502) 597-6260
Email Address:MARY.SIAS@KYSU.EDU

LOUISIANA

Baton Rouge
Grantee:Southern University and A&M College
Year One Funding:$1,593,440
Director's Name:Kathryn Jordan
Phone Number:(225) 771-2330
Email Address:KATHRYN_JORDAN@SUBR.EDU
Grambling, Louisiana
Grantee:Grambling State University
Year One Funding:$1,245,353
Director's Name:Beverly Hill-Hercules
Phone Number:(318) 274-6448
Email Address:HILLB@GRAM.EDU
New Orleans, Louisiana
Grantee:Dillard University
Year One Funding:$863,050
Director's Name:Nichele Harper
Phone Number:(504) 816-4212
Email Address:NHARPER@DILLARD.EDU

Grantee:Southern University at New Orleans
Year One Funding:$1,043,526
Director's Name:Brenda Jackson
Phone Number:(504) 286-5274
Email Address:
Grantee:Xavier University of Louisiana
Year One Funding:$1,159,956
Director's Name:Olger Twyner
Phone Number:(504) 520-5732
Email Address:OTWYNER@XULA.EDU
Shreveport, Louisiana
Grantee:Southern University at Shreveport
Year One Funding:$946,102
Director's Name:Janice Sneed
Phone Number:(318) 670-6470
Email Address:JSNEED@SUSLA.EDU

MARYLAND

Baltimore
Grantee:Coppin State University
Year One Funding:$1,074,974
Director's Name:Cherlyn Brace
Phone Number:(410) 951-3693
Email Address:CBRACE@COPPIN.EDU

Grantee:Morgan State University
Year One Funding:$1,303,449
Director's Name:James Haynes
Phone Number:(443) 885-4249
Email Address:JAMES.HAYNES@MORGAN.EDU
Bowie, Maryland
Grantee:Bowie State University
Year One Funding:$1,003,919
Director's Name:Joan Langdon
Phone Number:(301) 860-4036
Email Address:JLANGDON@BOWIESTATE.EDU
Princess Anne, Maryland
Grantee:University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Year One Funding:$946,310
Director's Name:Frances McKinney
Phone Number:(410) 651-6668
Email Address:FHMCKINNEY@UMES.EDU

MISSOURI

Jefferson City
Grantee:Lincoln University
Year One Funding:$862,293
Director's Name:Bettye Driver
Phone Number:(573) 681-5582
Email Address:DRIVERB@LINCOLNU.EDU
St. Louis, Missouri
Grantee:Harris-Stowe State University
Year One Funding:$763,665
Director's Name:Heather Bostic
Phone Number:(314) 340-3544
Email Address:BOSTICH@HSSU.EDU

MISSISSIPPI

Alcorn State
Grantee:Alcorn State University
Year One Funding:$1,047,488
Director's Name:Lola Brown
Phone Number:(601) 877-6117
Email Address:LTBROWN@ALCORN.EDU
Clarksdale, Mississippi
Grantee:Coahoma Community College
Year One Funding:$977,825
Director's Name:Marilyn Starks
Phone Number:(662) 621-4154
Email Address:MSTARKS@COAHOMACC.EDU
Holly Springs, Mississippi
Grantee:Rust College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Patricia Pegues
Phone Number:(662) 252-2491
Email Address:PPEGUES@RUSTCOLLEGE.EDU

MISSISSIPPI

Itta Bena
Grantee:Mississippi Valley State University
Year One Funding:$1,027,055
Director's Name:Jannette Adams
Phone Number:(662) 254-3434
Email Address:JSADAMS@MVSU.EDU
Jackson, Mississippi
Grantee:Jackson State University
Year One Funding:$1,543,907
Director's Name:Mary Myles
Phone Number:(601) 979-2321
Email Address:MTMYLES@JSUMS.EDU
Tougaloo, Mississippi
Grantee:Tougaloo College
Year One Funding:$922,274
Director's Name:Connie Richardson
Phone Number:(601) 977-4470
Email Address:CRICHARDSON@TOUGALOO.EDU
Utica, Mississippi
Grantee:Hinds Community College - Utica Campus
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Shirley Hopkins Davis
Phone Number:(601) 885-7024
Email Address:SHOPKINSDAVIS@HINDSCC.EDU

NORTH CAROLINA

Charlotte
Grantee:Johnson C. Smith University
Year One Funding:$788,759
Director's Name:Diane Bowles
Phone Number:(704) 378-1202
Email Address:dbowles@jscu.edu
Durham, North Carolina
Grantee:North Carolina Central University
Year One Funding:$1,249,283
Director's Name:Brenda Shaw
Phone Number:(919) 530-7853
Email Address:BSHAW@NCCU.EDU
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Grantee:Elizabeth City State University
Year One Funding:$1,152,028
Director's Name:Vandalyn Ray
Phone Number:(252) 335-3480
Email Address:VMRAY@MAIL.ECSU.EDU
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Grantee:Fayetteville State University
Year One Funding:$1,259,539
Director's Name:Tendai Johnson
Phone Number:(910) 672-1611
Email Address:TEJOHNSON@UNCFSU.EDU
Greensboro, North Carolina
Grantee:Bennett College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Cassandra Rogers
Phone Number:(336) 517-2102
Email Address:pbuford@bennett.edu

Grantee:North Carolina A&T State University
Year One Funding:$1,538,132
Director's Name:Sandra Totten
Phone Number:(336) 256-2018
Email Address:TOTTENS@NCAT.EDU
Raleigh, North Carolina
Grantee:Saint Augustine's College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Tammalyn Thomas-Golden
Phone Number:(919) 516-4533
Email Address:TGOLDEN@ST-AUG.EDU

Grantee:Shaw University
Year One Funding:$945,850
Director's Name:Lee Monroe
Phone Number:(919) 546-8347
Email Address:LMONROE@SHAWU.EDU
Salisbury, North Carolina
Grantee:Livingstone College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Laura Craig
Phone Number:(704) 216-6219
Email Address:LCRAIG@LIVINGSTONE.EDU
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Grantee:Winston Salem State University
Year One Funding:$1,370,828
Director's Name:Everette Witherspoon
Phone Number:(336) 750-2131
Email Address:WITHERSPOONE@WSSU.EDU

OHIO

Wilberforce
Grantee:Central State University
Year One Funding:$850,237
Director's Name:Jocelyn Robinson
Phone Number:(937) 376-6390
Email Address:JROBINSON2@CENTRALSTATE.EDU

Grantee:Wilberforce University
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Tijuana Hudson
Phone Number:(937) 708-5782
Email Address:THUDSON@WILBERFORCE.EDU

OKLAHOMA

Langston
Grantee:Langston University
Year One Funding:$1,040,907
Director's Name:Annette Stanley
Phone Number:(405) 466-3207
Email Address:LASTANLEY@LUNET.EDU
Cheyney, Pennsylvania
Grantee:Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Year One Funding:$766,168
Director's Name:Sharon Cannon
Phone Number:(610) 399-2057
Email Address:scannon@cheyney.edu
Lincoln University, Pennsylvania
Grantee:Lincoln University of Pennsylvania
Year One Funding:$861,996
Director's Name:Renford Brevett
Phone Number:(484) 365-7814
Email Address:RBREVETT@LINCOLN.EDU

SOUTH CAROLINA

Columbia
Grantee:Allen University
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Marcia Wynn
Phone Number:(803) 376-5948
Email Address:MWYNN@ALLENUNIVERSITY.EDU

Grantee:Benedict College
Year One Funding:$1,025,264
Director's Name:Doris Johnson
Phone Number:(803) 705-4536
Email Address:JOHNSOND@BENEDICT.EDU
Denmark, South Carolina
Grantee:Voorhees College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Courtney Davenport
Phone Number:(803) 780-1017
Email Address:jade@voorhees.edu

Grantee:Denmark Technical College
Year One Funding:$835,095
Director's Name:Tarshua Mack
Phone Number:(803) 793-5106
Email Address:MACKT@DENMARKTECH.EDU
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Grantee:Claflin University
Year One Funding:$776,211
Director's Name:Veronica Goodman
Phone Number:(803) 535-5544
Email Address:VGOODMAN@CLAFLIN.EDU

Grantee:South Carolina State University
Year One Funding:$1,188,396
Director's Name:Jo Ann Owens
Phone Number:(803) 536-7252
Email Address:JOWENS@SCSU.EDU
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Grantee:Clinton Junior College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Cheryl Webb
Phone Number:(803) 327-7402
Email Address:CWEBB@CLINTONJUNIORCOLLEGE.EDU
Sumter, South Carolina
Grantee:Morris College
Year One Funding:$765,826
Director's Name:Dorothy Cheagle
Phone Number:(803) 934-3227
Email Address:DCHEAGLE@MORRIS.EDU

TENNESSEE

Jackson
Grantee:Lane College
Year One Funding:$972,661
Director's Name:Sherrill Scott
Phone Number:(731) 265-1710
Email Address:SBSCOTT@LANECOLLEGE.EDU
Memphis, Tennessee
Grantee:LeMoyne-Owen College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Shirley Hill
Phone Number:(901) 435-1451
Email Address:SHIRLEY_HILL@LOC.EDU
Nashville, Tennessee
Grantee:Fisk University
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Beverly Robinson
Phone Number:(615) 329-8537
Email Address:BROBINSON@FISK.EDU

Grantee:Tennessee State University
Year One Funding:$1,319,018
Director's Name:Rosemary Jeffries
Phone Number:(615) 963-5149
Email Address:RJEFFRIES@TNSTATE.EDU

TEXAS

Austin
Grantee:Huston-Tillotson University
Year One Funding:$872,713
Director's Name:Hillary Williams
Phone Number:(512) 505-3075
Email Address:HAWILLIAMS@HTU.EDU
Dallas, Texas
Grantee:Paul Quinn College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Prince Teal
Phone Number:(214) 379-5441
Email Address:PTEAL@PQC.EDU
Hawkins, Texas
Grantee:Jarvis Christian College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:William Smialek
Phone Number:(903) 769-5780
Email Address:WSMIALEK@JARVIS.EDU
Houston, Texas
Grantee:Texas Southern University
Year One Funding:$1,451,589
Director's Name:Demetria Johnson-Weeks
Phone Number:(713) 313-7940
Email Address:WEEKS_DJ@TSU.EDU
Marshall, Texas
Grantee:Wiley College
Year One Funding:$748,973
Director's Name:Karen Helton
Phone Number:(903) 972-3283
Email Address:KHELTON@WILEYC.EDU
Prairie View, Texas
Grantee:Prairie View A&M University
Year One Funding:$1,313,807
Director's Name:Lora Williams
Phone Number:(936) 261-3441
Email Address:LLWILLIAMS@PVAMU.EDU
San Antonio, Texas
Grantee:St. Philip's College
Year One Funding:$1,579,024
Director's Name:Erick Akins
Phone Number:(210) 486-2776
Email Address:EAKINS@ALAMO.EDU
Terrell, Texas
Grantee:Southwestern Christian College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Sylvia Thomas
Phone Number:(972) 524-3341
Email Address:STHOM@SWCC.EDU
Tyler, Texas
Grantee:Texas College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:KeJuana Fridie
Phone Number:(903) 593-8311
Email Address:KFRIDIE@TEXASCOLLEGE.EDU

VIRGINIA

Hampton
Grantee:Hampton University
Year One Funding:$1,006,536
Director's Name:Tiajuana Jackson
Phone Number:(757) 727-5363
Email Address:TIAJUANA.JACKSON@HAMPTONU.EDU
Lawrenceville, Virginia
Grantee:Saint Paul's College
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Claudia Cochran
Phone Number:(434) 848-6432
Email Address:CCOCHRAN@SAINTPAULS.EDU
Lynchburg, Virginia
Grantee:Virginia University of Lynchburg
Year One Funding:$500,000
Director's Name:Kathy Franklin
Phone Number:(434) 528-5276
Email Address:KFRANKLIN@VUL.EDU
Norfolk, Virginia
Grantee:Norfolk State University
Year One Funding:$1,172,249
Director's Name:Katrina Miller
Phone Number:(757) 823-8234
Email Address:KBMILLER@NSU.EDU
Petersburg, Virginia
Grantee:Virginia State University
Year One Funding:$1,130,360
Director's Name:Agnes Hassell
Phone Number:(804) 524-5231
Email Address:AHASSELL@VSU.EDU
Richmond, Virginia
Grantee:Virginia Union University
Year One Funding:$775,959
Director's Name:Samuel Rhoades
Phone Number:(804) 257-5811
Email Address:STRHOADES@AOL.COM

VIRGIN ISLANDS

St. Thomas
Grantee:University of the Virgin Islands
Year One Funding:$758,703
Director's Name:Dayle Barry
Phone Number:(340) 693-1054
Email Address:dbarry@uvi.edu

WEST VIRGINIA

Bluefield
Grantee:Bluefield State College
Year One Funding:$759,217
Director's Name:Felica Williams
Phone Number:(304) 327-4211
Email Address:FBLANKS@BLUEFIELDSTATE.EDU
Institute, West Virginia
Grantee:West Virginia State University
Year One Funding:$841,520
Director's Name:R. Charles Byers
Phone Number:(304) 766-3148
Email Address:RCBYERS@WVSTATEU.EDU


Notice of Language Assistance: English  |  español  |  中文: 繁體版  |  Việt-ngữ  |  한국어  |  Tagalog  |  Русский