$14 Million Awarded for 40 Special Education Parent Training and Information Centers

Archived Information

$14 Million Awarded for 40 Special Education Parent Training and Information Centers

August 7, 2015

The U.S. Department of Education announced today nearly $14 million in five-year grants to operate 40 parent training and information centers to assist America’s families of children with disabilities.

The centers will provide parents with details and assistance on laws, policies and research-based education practices for children with disabilities. They will inform parents how data can be used to guide instruction; how to interpret results from evaluations and assessments; and ways to effectively engage in school reform activities.

"Parents are crucial to their child’s readiness to learn at every step of the education pipeline,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. “These centers will work on behalf of parents to help their children with disabilities achieve their academic potential."

The parent center grants currently funded by the Department of Education promote effective education of infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities by strengthening the role and responsibility of parents and ensuring they have meaningful opportunities to participate in their children’s education.

The grants are being funded by the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services and authorized by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Following is a list of the awards and the states or regions they will serve.

State Recipient Contact E-mail Amount
Alabama Alabama Parent Education Center Jeana Winter jwinter@alabamaparentcenter.com $302,127
Alaska Stone Soup Group Amy Westfall amyw@stonesoupgroup.org $210,000
Arkansas The Center for Exceptional Families Shelby Knight shelbyknightlucky7@gmail.com $201,762
California Region 1 Team of Advocates for Special Kids Rita Meza ritam@taskca.org $634,671
California Region 2 Team of Advocates for Special Kids Brenda Smith brendas@taskca.org $511,304
California Region 3 Exceptional Parents Unlimited Inc. Marlene Pena mpena@epuchildren.org $363,507
California Region 4 Parents Helping Parents Jane Floethe-Ford jane@php.com $518,129
California Region 5 WarmLine Family Resource Center Kelly Young Kelly@warmlinefrc.org $207,928
Colorado PEAK Parent Center Julie A. Harmon jharmon@peakparent.org $292,863
Connecticut Connecticut Parent Advocacy Center Nancy Prescott nprescott@gmail.com $220,813
Florida Region 1 Family Network on Disabilities of Florida Kathy Powell kathyp@fndfl.org $222,115
Florida Region 2 Family Network on Disabilities of Florida Janis Tucker La Belle jlabelle@fndusa.org $403,426
Florida Region 3 Family Network on Disabilities of Florida Margarita Montalvo margarita@fndfl.org $367,360
Georgia Parent to Parent of Georgia Stephanie Moss stephanie@p2pga.org $625,900
Illinois Region 1 Family Resource Center on Disabilities Michelle Phillips michelle.phillips@frcd.org $487,384
Illinois Region 2 Family Matters Parent Training and Information Center Debbie J Einhorn deinhorn@fmptic.org $249,925
Kansas Families Together Lesli Girard lesli@familiestogetherinc.org $233,626
Kentucky KY Special Parent Involvement Network Paulette Logsdon paulette@kyspin.com $270,469
Maine Maine Parent Federation Janice LaChance jlachance@mpf.org $200,000
Maryland The Parents” Place of Maryland Josie Thomas josie@ppmd.org $316,252
Michigan Michigan Alliance for Families Michelle Miller michelle@michiganallianceforfamilies.org $582,633
Montana PLUK Parent Center Roger Holt roger.holt@pluk.org $200,000
Nebraska PTI Nebraska Michael L. Tufte mtufte@pti-nebraska.org $200,000
Nevada Nevada P.E.P. Karen M. Taycher ktaycher@nvpep.org $200,000
New Jersey Statewide Parent Advocacy Network Diana Autin diana.autin@spannj.org $454,835
New Mexico Parents Reaching Out to Help Shannon Maxwell smaxwell@parentsreachingout.org $222,334
New York Region 1 Advocates for Children of New York Kim Sweet KSweet@advocatesforchildren.org $616,042
New York Region 2 The Advocacy Center Jenny Hutkowski hutkowski@advocacycenter.com $468,417
North Dakota Pathfinder Parent Center Cathy Haarstad cathyh@pathfinder-nd.org $200,000
Ohio Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities Lee Ann Derugen leeannd@ocecd.org $669,421
Oregon Family and Community Together Roberta Dunn roberta@factoregon.org $226,838
Puerto Rico APNI Mariel Cabrera mcabrera@apnipr.org $217,560
South Carolina Family Connection of South Carolina Amy Nienhuis ANienhuis@FamilyConnectionSC.org $287,490
Texas Region 1 Partners Resource Network Patrick Burks patburks_prn@sbcglobal.net $842,760
Texas Region 2 Partners Resource Network Julie Theobald jtheobaldprn@sbcglobal.net $629,569
Texas Region 3 Partners Resource Network Teresa Howell Teresa@partnerstx.org $200,000
Utah Utah Parent Center Helen Post helenp@utahparentcenter.org $200,000
Vermont Vermont Family Network Karen Price Karen.Price@vtfn.org $200,000
Virgin Islands VI Parent Training and Information Program Amelia Headley LaMont amelia@drcvi.org $103,612
Wisconsin Wisconsin Family Assistance Center for Education, Training and Support Courtney Salzer csalzer@wifacets.org $350,726