Archived Information

White House Initiative on Asian American and Pacific Islanders to Swear in President's Advisory Commission Members Tuesday

Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus Chair Rep. Honda to Join Community Leaders to Honor the Commissioners on Capitol Hill

Liz Utrup, (202) 401-1576,

Event Date 1: September 21, 2010 07:30 pm - September 21, 2010 08:30 pm

Washington — More than a dozen new members of the President's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders will be sworn in at the U.S. Capitol on Tuesday.

The Commission will work to improve the quality of life and opportunities for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders through increased access to, and participation in, Federal programs in which they may be underserved, by providing advice to President Obama and the co-chairs of the White House Initiative, Education Secretary Arne Duncan and Commerce Secretary Gary Locke.

Note: Space is limited. Media representatives interested in covering the Swearing-In Ceremony must pre-credential by Monday, Sept. 20 by emailing their name, title and organization and contact details to Toby Chaudhuri at

Event 1
Who : Kiran Ahuja, director, White House Initiative on AAPIs
Daphne Kwok, chair, President's Advisory Commission on AAPIs
Hines Ward, professional football player, Pittsburgh Steelers
Sefa Aina, director, Pomona College Asian American Resource Center
Amardeep Singh, co-founder, the Sikh Coalition
Debra T. Cabrera, faculty member, St. John's School
Kamuela J. N. Enos, community resource development director, MA`O Organic Farms
Frances Eneski Francis, partner, Spiegel & McDiarmid LLP
Farooq Kathwari, chairman and CEO, Ethan Allen Interiors
Hyeok Kim, executive director, InterIm Community Development Association
Ramey Ko, associate judge, City of Austin Municipal Court
Rozita Villanueva Lee, national vice chair, National Federation of Filipino American Associations
Sunil Puri, president, First Rockford Group, Inc.
Unmi Song, executive director, Lloyd A. Fry Foundation
Dilawar A. Syed, president and CEO, Yonja Media Group
Kampha Thephavong, physician, Veterans Affairs Hospital, Fresno, Calif.
Doua Thor, executive director, Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
Hector L. Vargas, Jr., executive director, Gay & Lesbian Medical Association
What : President's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders Swearing-In Ceremony
When : Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2010, 7:30 p.m.
Where : Congressional Auditorium and Atrium
U.S. Capitol Visitor Center