Archived Information

Higher Education Leaders Tell Congress It's Time to "Realize the Dream"

U.S. Secretary of Education Joins University Leaders for Tuesday Telephonic Press Briefing

Contact:  
Adela de la Torre, (213) 674-2832; (213) 400-7822 (cell)


Event Date 1: September 21, 2010 12:00 pm - September 21, 2010 01:00 pm

Washington, DC — On Tuesday, colleges, universities, education associations, and students groups will speak out to ask Congress to "Realize the DREAM" and pass the DREAM Act, legislation that would provide a path to citizenship for undocumented students who have been in the United States since childhood if they attend college or perform military service. A telephonic press briefing will be held at noon EST to discuss the importance of this vital education issue.


Event 1
Who : Michael Crow, President, Arizona State University
John J. DeGioia, President, Georgetown University
Myrtle Dorsey, Chancellor, Baton Rouge Community College, and Chair-elect, American Association of Community Colleges
Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education, United States Department of Education
Carlos Rivera, DREAM student, University of Montana
Marielena Hincapié, Executive Director, National Immigration Law Center (moderator)
What :

Telephonic press briefing featuring higher education leaders, students, and elected officials to discuss the importance of the DREAM Act for educators in America.

Recently introduced as an amendment to the Department of Defense authorization bill, the DREAM Act is currently awaiting a vote in the Senate. The bill has 39 co-sponsors.

"Realize the DREAM" is a national day of action to highlight the importance of the DREAM Act to the higher education community. For more information, visit http://nilc.org/immlawpolicy/DREAM/index.htm.

When : Call Time: 12 pm EST/11 am CST/10 am MST/9 am PST
Tags: