Archived Information

Education Secretary Arne Duncan to Honor National Blue Ribbon Schools at Awards Luncheon

Outstanding principals to receive Terrel H. Bell Award at breakfast ceremony

David Thomas, (202) 401-1576

Event Date 1: November 16, 2011 12:30 pm

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will honor the nation’s 314 Blue Ribbon Schools for 2010 at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 16th, at 12:30 p.m. at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The Blue Ribbon School honors also include special leadership awards in the name of former Secretary of Education Terrel H. Bell. At a breakfast ceremony at 9 a.m., ten principals will receive the Bell Award for their outstanding leadership in fostering successful teaching and learning at their schools.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students. The program is part of a larger Department of Education effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices.

Representatives from the 314 schools being honored will be available to the news media. A list of the 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools is available at

Event 1
Who : Arne Duncan, U. S. Secretary of Education, U.S. Department of Education
What : The 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony
When : 12:30 p.m. EDT – Secretary Duncan keynotes luncheon
9 a.m. EDT - 10 outstanding principals receive Terrel H. Bell Award
Where : Omni Shoreham Hotel
Regency Ballroom
2500 Calvert Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C.